Christmas worries come a knocking.

by

This holiday season, our current interests are….

Coconut: gymnastics, human skeletons and organs, doctor type things, costumes, pirates, puzzles, Cars.

Snort: Cars. And human babies. Possibly a bit of Spiderman.

At football on Monday, as Snort and his two little friends ran around playing in the University sports centre, the other mums started discussing Christmas. One said she’d got each kid fourteen gifts. The other has been buying Cars for the last four months. When I got home, I got a piece of paper intended to write down what we had gotten the kids so far.

That’s when I realised that I’d better pull my fucking finger out of my ass.

I put another football mum on the Cars hunt, as a crappy little shop near her sells them new for much cheaper than I’ve seen anywhere else. I started bidding on shit on eBay. We actually had to move money over to be able to afford gifts. That is The Suck.

You know what else? My mom made my sister and I stockings when we were little. TMD and I actually made stockings for each other for an early Christmas together, with no foreknowledge of this (not the first or last time for the same gift!). Last year I was running around two days before Christmas, crying and sweating in various shops, desperate to find the kids some stockings. There were none left, except for disgusting Baby’s First Christmas ones. I sucked it up and bought them, as they didn’t read.

I was safe in the knowledge that we would make them stockings this year, months in advance. I even carefully planned out how they should look.

Here we are, a month before Christmas, and I don’t even have fabric yet.

We also don’t own a printer, microwave, or freezer. Soooo I’m thinking we should get the kids rocks, just in the spirit of the house shaped cave we live in!

Seriously, though, most of my wooden toy dreams have collapsed under the weight of diecast Cars characters and skeleton posters. I’m obsessed with trying to give them equivalent holiday experiences, which is tricky given that Snort really only wants Cars toys and Coconut has more varied interests. Are equivalent experiences measured by price, by quantity of things to unwrap? I’ve decided to try to roughly get them the same (smallish) number of things they will really love and appreciate. That way everyone wins, right?

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Christmas worries come a knocking.”

  1. mamacrow Says:

    On the stockings thing – it was a tradition Papacrow brought with him from his childhood to use a pillowcase, usually a festive one with xmas pics on it. Ebay is useful, if no joy on the pillowcase front, I got a lot of cheap ‘santa sacks’ which are basically the same thing but drawstringed, and stitched each kid’s name on them. Done!

  2. Liv Says:

    Same number definitely good – I remember making my (younger by 20 months) brother get one out each at the same time to ensure the same number were in each stocking… Price wise I don’t think I ever had a clue though. We had crazy knitted stockings which looked like nothing I have ever seen. I think maybe shop bought knee high women’s socks might have about the same result – and I have seen a bunch of festive socks in the shops this year, if that sounds easier than making them from scratch in limited time.

  3. mamacrow Says:

    stumbled across this today – looks reasonably easy! http://www.cherrymenlove.com/crafts-how-tos/2010/11/how-to-make-christmas-stockings-2010.html

Leave a Reply

