My mind can be a car submerged under water.

by

Am I the only person who thinks of totally terrifying and random shit?

Example: I was playing on the floor with Snort, and out of nowhere I thought, Jesus, if we were in the car and it went off a bridge or something and got submerged, how would I get them out? Is it possible to hang on to both of them AND create an escape?

I’m telling you, as I smiled and played with his beloved Cars (which were notsubmerged, merely driving round his road rug and occasionally crashing into each other), I was starting to get all crazy and frantic in my head. So much so that I excused myself to go talk to TMD about this. She is very used to me, and told me she’d open a window and hold onto a kid with each hand. I swear to god, I was almost crying, thinking about how they don’t know how to hold their breath.

I then googled and found a great page with clear step by step instructions and a video. I now want to buy a center punch, a small safety device you can hook on your keyring. It easily breaks windows, even when underwater. These things appear to not exist here in Country B. So any reader/stalker that wants to prove themselves useful, source them, spend the two bucks, and post it to me. I’m dead fucking serious.

Shit, my friends, get yourselves one too.

I now know you take off your seatbelt, open a window, get children out, and get out yourself. I seriously need to know if you take them out of their belts before you smash that window open. All the information also focuses on pushing the kids out the window before you – I can’t do that shit. My kids can’t swim and HELL if I would let go of them. Cars take one to two minutes to completely sink, and I have a heavy ass car.

So, do you think about shit like this??

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “My mind can be a car submerged under water.”

  1. Jess Collingwood Says:

    I’m pretty sure you’d unbuckle the kids before smashing the window. That way you could get the kids to the window & ready before smashing it? Otherwise, it seems like you’d have a hard time trying to get everyone on the same page, at the same time, ya know?

    To answer your question though, no, I don’t think of things like this. Ha. That might someday change when I have children though.

  2. CJ Says:

    Ha ha! The parking lot of our complex faces our sliding glass doors. Every time a car’s lights shine into our family room I am terrified they will crash right through!!

  3. Mel Bowman Says:

    Ironic that you should mention this, as I just bought a bunch of Life Hammers last month to use as stocking stuffers for Christmas.
    http://www.lifehammer.com/

  4. mamacrow Says:

    so glad I’m not the only one who worries about this. Don’t forget you’ll need something to cut the seatbelts as well, most likely, as in a crash they go really tight and lock.

    And THIS is why I agonised over childlocking the back doors – incase of a crash, underwater or not!

  5. PottyMouthMommy Says:

    yes… oh yes… I haven’t a clue where it is now, I’m pretty sure they’re illegal here even, but once upon a time I had this plastic thing with a really sharp blade that went on my key ring. It was specifically for cutting seatbelts if you ever got trapped in one after an accident. I’m also terrified of driving over bridges for EXACTLY the reason of crashing into the water and having the car sink. EVERY.SINGLE.TIME. I go over a bridge I get mental images of flying off the bridge and going into the water. It was so bad when I was younger that I literally had panic attacks and would have to close my eyes and take really deep breaths so I didn’t hyperventilate. 😦

Leave a Reply

