Pregnancy tests and the thought of cheating.

by

A week from now we will be testing. Unlike last time, I think we plan to wait until the recommended 10dp5dt (ten days past a five day transfer), though a Tuesday morning is a slightly bummerish day. A weekend would be better either way, I think.

I can’t help it. I’m getting all hopeful and excited. What started as more of a lark, let’s give it a try and see what happens, suddenly I can’t imagine life without another baby. Or two.

I’ve started another blog post called Symptom Watch 2012, and should we test positive I’ll post that. TMD is generally less crazy than me, so we haven’t been looking at boob or thigh veins. Then again, where is the time?

I am a true housewife now. I do everything, so when she comes home she can relax and then go to bed early. I realise I’m only in the early stages of doing the bulk for the kids and house, but so far so good. Of course, she has been assigned the task of putting clean laundry away. And that task is surely worth its weight in gold.

Tell me, when did you test? Last time we were 8dp3dt.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Pregnancy tests and the thought of cheating.”

  1. Karen Says:

    I’m an early tester. I always started testing around 8 or 9 days past ovulation, or the equivalent in IVF-speak. (4dp5dt.)

    I’ve gotten 4 BFPs, all around 9 or 10 dpo. (only 2 of those BFPs are currently running around being people.)

  2. Christy Says:

    I have no info for you on when I tested. I think I was like 5 days late with my period, but I couldn’t swear to that. I really just wanted to post and SQUEEEE for you guys.

  3. catsandcradles Says:

    We had more will power the first time around, and didn’t test until 12 dpo with PB, which is when we found out she was pregnant with what eventually became Critter.

    This go round, we’ve typically started testing at 10 dpo, but the positive I got with Blanket was at 11, after a negative the day before. Next cycle that we try (not sure if we’re trying this coming one or taking a month off yet), I’m really hoping that we can hold out until 14 dpo. That way, we can just test, get the negative, stop the progesterone, and move on to the next cycle. (Um, sorry. I’m not in the best ever headspace at the moment.)

    Honestly, though, my current recommendation would be against early testing. If it’s positive, great, yay, commence celebrating. But if it’s negative, you get to spend a horrible few days waiting to find out for sure if you’re really not pregnant, or if you just tested too early. It’s worse (in my opinion) to go through the days of ever-diminishing odds that tomorrow’s test will turn positive, even if today’s hasn’t, than it is to just live in the blind “maybe” of it all for a few more days.

    Either way you decide to go, though, I’ve got fingers crossed for happy results!

Leave a Reply

