Building a community of cool kids.

by

20121005-141203.jpg

You know how you know people online but rarely get to meet all the cool people out there? Since moving to our new city, we have been lucky enough to meet a fellow blogger-turned-friend who lives here, too. And Coconut may or may not be obsessed with her child, who I will call Smiley.

I swear, you guys. ‘I miss Smiley! I wish we could go to Smiley’s house and jump on her bed. I wish Smiley could come here and jump on our beds. I am really, really sad. I miss Smiley and her mummy!’

This morning I showed the kids the two pictures on this post, which Smiley’s mum took on Wednesday, and Snort was like, ‘Oh! it’s our friend!’ Coconut, on the other hand, started crying and begging to skip gymnastics so she could go to Smiley’s house instead. Wowza.

Of course, Smiley’s room does have a windowsill to sit on, before launching yourself into forward rolls on the bed. As seen below.

20121005-141210.jpg

Smiley’s house also has a bathroom where I was quietly peeing before Coconut ran in to see me, and Smiley’s mummy was treated to the sight of me half naked. Twice. I figure that’s enough to make her want to ask us to live with them.

Today is the first day all of our stuff has dried, since our inaugural visit to their house included a walk under blue skies and in the sunshine a half mile down the road to a park. A good time was had by all, until suddenly all hell broke loose and dark grey clouds unleashed their fury. Heavy, gorgeous rain….and hailstones. Smiley was up in a sling, but bless them for not running off and instead ambling along at the pace of two three year olds.

I do feel horrendous about the lack of regular, consistent friendships for the kids (and me!)….though Smiley and her Mummy are my dream. Our kids get along, and I really like Lauren. Family friendships are the holy grail!

Coconut loved Smiley in a powerfully crazy way, but I think her sadness about not seeing her every day is possibly linked to us not having playdates at our house or friends’ houses. Either that or she is going to be a stalker when she grows up.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Building a community of cool kids.”

  1. Lyssie Says:

    I love how much fun the three of them seem to be having, oh to be three years old again.

    • me Says:

      Tell me about it. I want to be three for a few days, but with me as my own mom. I’ve already planned what I would want to do.

Leave a Reply

