IVF – round two.

by

We can say we have officially begun our IVF protocol, since myself, my wife, and the egg recipient are now all on the pill. For those who aren’t sure of what’s going on, I’ll be stimulating my ovaries to produce a nice crop of eggs, then giving half to my wife and half to an anonymous recipient. I’ve actually shared eggs with this same anonymous woman in the past, so it’s nice to try to help her expand her family again.

And, of course, our hopes are to expand our family again, too. While the emotional part of me would LOVE another set of twins, the rational part knows we should be aiming for a single baby this time. And TMD certainly is in the singleton camp.

So, I’ll be gearing up to share all the nitty gritty. I know last time I heard from quite a few people who were undergoing IVF. I hope to help people again this time.

This time the focus will be on what happens when a married lesbian couple wants eggs from one partner to turn into embryos for the other partner to carry. And, of course, egg sharing and the whole TTC process. Please do share with people who may benefit from the information. I haven’t seen many blogs explicitly cover how the whole lesbians carrying their partner’s egg thing works, and I know I’ve been curious in the past. The next couple of months is a chance for us all to learn!

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “IVF – round two.”

  1. Jess Collingwood Says:

    Just out of curiosity, how many embryos are you guys planning on, er, transplanting (?? sorry, I don’t really know the correct terminology, I suppose)? I know the more you transplant, the greater the success rate but also the greater the chance of twins so…

  2. pajamamommas Says:

    Woohoo! Exciting!

  3. Winnie Says:

    Are you going to have the same sperm donor as last time as well?

Leave a Reply

