Adventures in navigating.

by

A couple of weeks ago we went to our first home education group for this area. It was ten steps beyond awesome and I keep meaning to write about it.

But for now, let me say that when my satnav said, ‘You have reached your destination’ I was on a country lane with nothing but hedges on either side of the car. I kept driving and pulled over when we hit the nearby village.

I stopped opposite a church and tried not to lose my mind after driving 40 minutes in the pouring rain to not find the place.
I rang one of the organizers, who apparently is more shit at directions than even me. She said she was losing reception and would go outside and stand in the absolute monsoon just to make sure we’d get there.

She had a friend ring, who actually used to live in the village. She was all gung ho and, ‘I’ll fly you in!’ And she did. Telling me to take a sharp right turn, drive past the blue shop, hang a left at ye olde rusty sign.

You’d better believe that I set the carpark of this place as a favourite on the satnav. And, in fact, the satnav wants to set every new favourite location as this place. So….it’s been annoying.

Imagine my pure joy today when the satnav led us, not to the group, but the fucking church in the village where I’d admitted I was lost beyond belief. I believe I snarl-laughed, ‘You’ve got to be fucking kidding me.’

Luckily some insane hidden memory kicked in and I remembered how to get there. And it was even better than last time….and I set it as a favourite again.

We won’t be back for a long three weeks due to a trip to see my family, so let’s hope Debbie (my satnav) redeems herself next time because my memory doesn’t stretch that long.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

