Our day.

by

Everyone woke up later than usual. First thing I saw when going downstairs was…

8 30 Coconut has opened up her zoo dinosaur map, which has different pictures and names of dinosaurs on display. She’s collected up her plastic dinosaurs and is matching each one to the pictures on the map. She asks me to tell her the name of each one and I discover I’m a fool who can’t read long words.

Normal vitamins, teeth brushing, dance party, reading storybooks, putting clothes on interlude.

9 30 Went for an hour long drive. Found some nice paths and places to explore, but both kids wanted to stay in the car or go to our friend N’s house. The first ride in the new car was obviously awesome for them, and I drove aimlessly and turned on streets that looked interesting.

10 30 Came home to water guys digging up the pavement and fixing pipes. Snort was transfixed, while Coconut played in the car. Yanking on seatbelts. The water guys loved Snort….I wonder how long the love lasted when we stared at them for a good twenty minutes.

Lunch. Had a picnic on kitchen floor that moved out to lounge. A few minutes of High School Musical 2, Snort reading on his own for ages, lego, Coconut jigsawing, playing with little figures. And HSM background music for me. Cause I’m 11.

Snort playing with his baby, Coconut colouring. She then washed dishes in the big sink.

More play.

Postman delivered sidewalk chalk I ordered ages ago. We tumbled out into the garden and wasted no time drawing on the patio. Kids played ages driving and cleaning their cars, pretending to squirt each other with the hose, and kept handing me roly poly bugs. Ick, gross, etc.

Snail watching (and rescuing by placing near plants), playing in sand pit, weeding flowerbeds (of their own volition). Picking daisies. Snort pretend cutting the grass (always a favourite game, done with an empty disposable mop).

Painting with water and paintbrushes. And continuing to do so…to the Vengaboys for one song I’m sure the neighbours love us for. Try this water painting on your own patio. It’s good shit.

Ooh! A dramatic reinactment of a thunderstorm just because I said it looked like it might rain. We are talking full on dance, thunder sound effects and movements, hail stone jazz fingers, wind swaying. I’m kind of impressed.

My impressedness fades a bit when some rather dramatic crying ensues over a piece of shit jigsaw piece. They were using them as tickets and posting through a hole in a chair.

3 22 back inside. My head is painful. I wish TMD was here! Snack and a tv show.

At this point I don’t know what exactly happened. They were playing together so I went in another room and read for awhile! By myself! Alone!

Afternoon has been munching on homemade kale crisps, building a castle from couch cushions, building a shit heap from everything on this level of the house, and more kale crisp eating.

Right now they are watching a bit more tv while I sit in the kitchen and debate dinner. Do I make it? Or can the kale tide us over till TMD gets home? Ha. I know which option wins.

Ah, Snort has come in to check on our seeds. We are growing watercress. Give it a few days and they can eat that for dinner. Do you think all this stuff will turn their skin green? Make them grow roots? (Yes, hopefully, but a different sort of roots.) He is now washing dishes like Coconut did earlier. I’m not sure they are actually my kids.

Now, they’ve been going to bed way late, but hopefully today has tired them out. They always do really cool stuff with Mummy once she gets home. Mama likes to run away upstairs.

Give me thirty minutes and I’ll be upstairs again. Mmm.

Then we do it all over again tomorrow!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

