Obligatory TTC update. And how if we were straight we’d be pregnant cause we’re so fucking relaxed.

by

So you all know TMD had her second AMH bloods done. I had mine drawn two days ago at my local doctor’s. The nurse didn’t use the kit provided, because for some reason she only does bloods with the needles/blood collection things that specific doctor’s office uses. She checked the vial had the same ‘additives’ as the one the clinic provided, so fingers crossed she has not fucked up a very expensive test.

I don’t know, y’all. My mother was all ‘Cancer!! IVF is The Cancer!!’ and I can’t actually find any conclusive medical research to support this. IVF CAN speed up the progression of certain forms of breast cancer if it already exists, but it also LOWERS the risk of other cancers. Is this a wash? My mom was like, ‘What is the use of having more kids and then dying on them?’

So despite inconclusive medical research, erring on the side of it’s all probably fine, my mother’s C-word tactics have scared me from ever having more hormones enter TMD or myself. And my crotch is ….new. Pain in the symphasis pubis, but a totally different sort than I’ve had before. I really must google what effect the IVF hormones might have on my SPD, especially as I suspect I am one of the very, very few who have longterm SPD partly due to hormonal issues.

In other news, life is sort of great. It’s been so sunny and I’ve been so I-am-the-most-relaxed-person-on-earth. I took fifty minutes to blow up our huge new inflatable swimming pool, and the kids are just naked and swimming in dirty grass water and throwing stones into buckets filled with soap water. They are piling the couch high with anything not nailed down (a game previously referred to by them as ‘rubbish truck’, now called ‘going on a car ride’). We are eating leftovers in the garden, having ‘picnics’ on the kitchen floor, surviving on an eating when hungry basis.

The only thing I am uptight about is the constant application of suncream. Alas, if only I had been so rigid with myself, I would not currently have a left arm on fire.

But in direct contrast to the IVF TTC debacle (and the realisation that it’s 1000 more than I told you, due to the added cost of swimmers, etc) and the near daily diarrhea it has given me, life is feeling pretty golden. We are barefoot bike riding, bug hunting, scrubbing weird machinery in the garage with old toothbrushes for fun just taking it one hour at a time.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

