Creating from scratch.

by

image

I don’t remember cooking as a child. I do remember being a teenager, and being yelled at to come help. Or being moaned at that someone else had been slaving over the stove all day.

My impressions of cooking were that it was hard work and no fun.

I need to learn to properly cook. For our health, for the tasty vegetarian/vegan world that is out there, and so that the kids can learn. We’ve made pizzas and sandwiches since they were babies. Chocolate buttons in baked bananas, and the amazing creations they make out of their meals daily.

This morning they asked for pancakes. So I ponied up, looked at a recipe, dragged a little table into the kitchen, and we did it.

Some mess and mayhem followed, but it was fun. They did every step of the process, excepting the stove, but they stood on stools and watched me cook.

I’ll be honest. I had no idea WTF I was doing. I was like, ‘This doesn’t so much look like batter as thick ass dough. What the hell, let’s throw some more milk in. And some more.’ We used white vinegar rather than eggs.

So we didn’t know what we were doing. But the kids trusted I knew what to do. They laughed, mixed, sifted. We experimented with no pressure for what the final results would be.

I think I’m going to be learning right alongside my kids, rather than teaching them. They have a lot to help me learn.

We made pancakes from scratch. They are growing into themselves from scratch. I’m a bit dented, but if I just add more milk I’m sure I’ll turn out fine.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Creating from scratch.”

  1. Lyssie Says:

    I’m not sure if you’ve seen it but there’s a Sesame Street cookbook that’s really good for cooking with children. It even highlights the child friendly steps (and comes with a bunch of cool Sesame Street character stickers).

  2. mendylady Says:

    Love that: a bit dented, add more milk. Yes!

Leave a Reply

