Cloth…washcloths.

by

So, we failed at cloth diapers. Too many horrific rashes, too much of Coconut walking weird as a result, too much nappy changing times two. I also wrote extensively on Twitter awhile back about wanting to switch to family cloth (ie cloth reuseable wipes rather than toilet paper). I never did that. Another ‘fail.’

But we do extensively use cloth. Here’s how.

We are washcloth people. We have a big tub of washcloths in all colours in the kitchen. These are used for wiping counters, wiping the table after meals, washing dishes, washing the floor, etc. Multi-purpose cloths, if you will. I suspect we are saving a lot of trees and a lot of money by doing this!

We have another basket of fluffy cloths/small cloths in the lounge/dining room. We use these for wiping hands and faces post meals, or whenever is needed, really. Again, they get the food grime off nicely and there are no nasty chemicals going on either kids’ skin.

We have – you guessed it – a stack of all blue washcloths in the bathroom (see what we did with the colour coding there?). These are for bathroom-related chores – washing the floor, sink, toilet, bath, etc. As of late, this pile doesn’t see much action because I’m a slovenly whore.

Our final foray into cloth? FLYlady’s purple cloths. Like many people, her multiple emails that appear to be trying to sell products used to annoy me. Until I caved and bought the purple cloths. These things are AMAZING. Using only water, they are fab at cleaning mirrors and the tv screen in seconds flat. They are also pretty good on windows. And they are THE BEST on cars! No lie. A bucket of hot water (sometimes changed halfway through) and ONE cloth and the car sparkles in less time than you would believe. A short enough period of time that other twin parents could also consider cleaning their car once a year, like we do.

I think that’s it on the washcloth front. How do you use cloth in your home? Or green cleaning? I’m always looking for cost effective, EASY, quick ways to improve our lives in little ways.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Cloth…washcloths.”

  1. The Barreness Says:

    We cloth nappy, but a hell of a lot easier with one – with #2 arriving shortly we will see! We use velour washcloths with a spray bottle as bum wipes (did use the 10pack washcloths from Ikea until The Bee’s mollosscum meant we needed something softer), and everything just gets chucked in the wash. The Ikea ones are now used for wiping down hands/face/surfaces during meals, and we use microfibre cloths instead of sponges to clean the kitchen and bathroom, with Chux cloths for windows and mirrors. I generally have a tub of Napisan going and eveything gets chucked straight in that before being washed. We also have a microfibre mop which we run over the wooden floors every few days to pick up cat hair and food residue – which can go straight into the wash as well. Line dry everything (gotta love living in Australia where the sun dries, bleaches and sanitises like a fothermucker). We have to scramble if we need a paper towel though!

  2. Sara Says:

    We use cloths for most of our cleaning/wiping. I have a pile of wash cloths that we use to wipe hands/faces/assorted sticky bits on the boys, and cloths for cleaning the kitchen, windows, walls, tv screen, etc. Not fancy flylady cloths, just regular ones that I throw in the wash. I use newspapers to dry the windows and tv screen after I wash it with vinegar water, works very well. I use raggy old towels for wiping the floors after I wash them, and I have some old diaper prefolds that we use for wiping up all the pee when we let the boys run naked and joyful around the house! I still use disosable wipes for diaper changes and disposable diapers though. My go with cloth was a dismal failure.

  3. Christy Says:

    This is so all so good. Your cutting down less trees, but I think more importantly your exposing your kiddos to less chemicals. Paper towels are usually bleached and that kind of stuff.

    I have been using cloth instead of toilet paper when I tinkle for the last couple of days (paper for poop, thankyouverymuch) and I rather like it. Even though we buy pretty soft TP my cloth wipes are much softer on my lady bits and they are nicely absorbent. I’ve always used cloth wipes and plain water on Lily so I’m just using her wipes for myself too.

    I have noticed that I don’t have enough wipes for Lily (before I started to share them) since I’m not washing her diapers as often since we are in the process of potty learning. So I decided to get domestic and shit and sew some more wipes. I have never in my life used a sewing machine, but my mother-in-law is an expert so she showed me what to do and in the matter of 3 or 4 short (haha) hours I have made 30 more wipes.

    We use paper towels like they are going out of freaking style and I’m planning on putting a stop to this. We’ll still buy paper towels because we find them very useful for a lot of little misc things. We buy the ones that are cut into half sheet and find that they make a really nice spoon rest and that kind of thing. Anyway I’m planning on make some cloth napkins out of the same flannel I made the wipes out of. Hopefully I can get this done today along with baking 4 batches of cookies. We’ll see how all of this goes.

  4. Christy Says:

    This is so all so good. Your cutting down less trees, but I think more importantly your exposing your kiddos to less chemicals. Paper towels are usually bleached and that kind of stuff.

    I have been using cloth instead of toilet paper when I tinkle for the last couple of days (paper for poop, thankyouverymuch) and I rather like it. Even though we buy pretty soft TP my cloth wipes are much softer on my lady bits and they are nicely absorbent. I’ve always used cloth wipes and plain water on Lily so I’m just using her wipes for myself too.

    I have noticed that I don’t have enough wipes for Lily (before I started to share them) since I’m not washing her diapers as often since we are in the process of potty learning. So I decided to get domestic and shit and sew some more wipes. I have never in my life used a sewing machine, but my mother-in-law is an expert so she showed me what to do and in the matter of 3 or 4 short (haha) hours I have made 30 more wipes.

    We use paper towels like they are going out of freaking style and I’m planning on putting a stop to this. We’ll still buy paper towels because we find them very useful for a lot of little misc things. We buy the ones that are cut into half sheet and find that they make a really nice spoon rest and that kind of thing. Anyway I’m planning on make some cloth napkins out of the same flannel I made the wipes out of. Hopefully I can get this done today along with baking 4 batches of cookies. We’ll see how all of this goes. 🙂

  5. Christy Says:

    Sorry for double post, I’ve been having computer and internet connection issues all day.

Leave a Reply

