I am craving scary movies. And books. And crunchy leaves.

by

I love horror. Films, books, haunted houses. And not just the scary stuff, but the stuff that is supposed to be scary but it a big old mess. Have you seen Sleepaway Camp? If not, I suggest you go watch it now.

Growing up we had a little independent movie rental place – cleverly named ‘Movieland’ – near us. Every week we went in, and every week Sleepaway Camp is the one I chose. I also love movies and books about summer camp. So summer camp plus horror? And weird gay subplots? Crazy aunts?

Not to mention THE BEST THIRTY SECONDS OF CINEMATIC HISTORY. I don’t lie.

Everyone who I force into watching this movie is like, ‘Dude, why the hell are we watching this? This sucks, even for you.’ They may concede that certain parts are awesome, but I admit that by and large it’s your typical eighties horror film. Until the final thirty seconds.

I’m not going to tell you what happens, and you are a big fat cheater if you google this. Just get your paws on this movie somehow – I think it may even be on YouTube – and watch (in full!). Trust me on this one.

Another one worth watching? Wicker Man.

All of that being said, Halloween is my favourite holiday and time of year. I find myself wanting to watch scary movies all night long and read books about all things spooky – however I choose to define ‘spooky’ on any given night. My current greatest wish is to buy MTV’s full two series of the show Fear. It’s very cheap online, but alas, I must save my money so I can buy my kids nasty orange flavoured water in special bottles when we go for a walk because the awesome organic juice they like is not available.

I’ll give it a few years, and hope that eventually they’ll want scary movies more than they want juice.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “I am craving scary movies. And books. And crunchy leaves.”

  1. PottyMouthMommy Says:

    *sigh*…. I soooo know what you’re talking about here. A group of friends and I used to spend our Halloween watching “classic” horror films… and when I say classic I mean “night of the living dead” and “chucky” and “leprechan”!!! Sweet sweet cheesy deliciousness!! ah- 80’s horror movies!! Halloween is totally my favorite holiday too- I start planning decor and costumes around June!! This time of year is just so perfect, crunchy leaves, wonderful scents and sounds- the colours are so vibrant! I love this time of year!! Also- Canadian Thanksgiving is in October- so we get all the autumn awesomeness AND turkey!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

