Why twitter is better than chinese whispers/telephone.

by

Step one: I say an internet friend from another country is coming over tomorrow to hang out and meet the babies.

Step two: Another friend says she’d love to meet us if she ever comes to Country B.

Step three: Another friend says she would like to meet the friend in step two as well.

Step four: Somebody suggests that if we all lived on our much mentioned and beloved twitter commune, such meet ups would be unnecessary.

Step five: I say to the friend in step 3 that we should actually meet, and extend that to another mutual friend who actually isn’t that far from us.

Step six: One of these people suggest a fourth mutual friend who is hot shit when it comes to camping.

Step seven: Somehow, someone I do not know invites a bunch of people to go camping and creates a hashtag so we can all talk about where and when this thing is happening.

Step eight: Everyone is inviting everyone else, and it has morphed into an event – according to one – for home education tweeps and like-minded souls.

Step nine: I anticipate that by the time I wake up in the morning, about 60% of the twitter population living in my country will have agreed to go camping with strangers this summer.

I only hope step ten involves a very, very small casual fun meet up with people I actually talk to. I’m not anti-social – not really, anyway – but the idea of a bunch of people I don’t even know on the internet all crammed into a campground together? In theory I think it sounds fun, in reality I might be tempted to skip it.

Of course, because twitter is what it is, by this time next week no one will remember that any of this hastag commune holiday camping meet up stuff was ever mentioned. It’s the nature of the beast.

(Still, I should say: we would love to meet people who live somewhat near us at some point. Not sure where I live in relation to you? Send me a DM on twitter.)

Um, also? The title of my last entry now seems prophetic.

Tags: ,

9 Responses to “Why twitter is better than chinese whispers/telephone.”

  1. mamacrow Says:

    ?! omg not really? now i’m scared to go onto twitter O_o

    • existere Says:

      For real. I am thinking of planning top secret individual meet ups, so I can relax and get to know the people I actually wanted to meet in the first place. THAT MEANS YOU.

      • mamacrow Says:

        sounds wonderful! i’d like to meet a whole load of people in a bunch, but I kinda mean people I know, you know?! eeek!

        • existere Says:

          Yes, exactly! I automatically think of you and @jehefinner, and a few others, who might be nice to meet in a group. Or smaller group meet ups here and there – stuff that will actually happen because it is manageable to plan. I don’t know how to plan for 5425329 zillion people, nor do I want to…

          • existere Says:

            Also, I just made myself laugh because I pictured you, me and TMD all sat in a row hunched over laptops doing farmville. Oh! Made myself laugh again as I typed this.

  2. mamacrow Says:

    hahahahahaha! or in opposite corners not talking, but all tweeting each other!

    • existere Says:

      My friends back home who have gone to tweetups say this is what actually happens. I don’t think I would be like that, though. Unless everyone I met was a queen freak, then maybe.

  3. mamacrow Says:

    queen as in the rock band?! OMG u dont like queeen?!

    • existere Says:

      No, like….the queen of the freaks. So Freaky even I might not like them. They might have pot noodle hair and clothes made from pork. They might be mean. They may not like Nando’s.

Leave a Reply

