Quite possibly the most random thing ever. And that’s saying a lot, considering it’s ME.

by

I’m going to write that getting-babies-to-sleep-without-crying thing very soon because I said I would if people wanted me to, and it seems they do! Sleep is so so so important for us as parents to function, and it’s always one of the heavy hitter ‘mom arguments.’

It’s not going up today because my lurvely wife wants to write about nighttime sleep – she typically handles bedtime and I handle naps. So we’ll both need a chance to write – and hopefully me pirate pal Aussie (no, she’s not really a pirate. I don’t think!) is coming up this morning with her bubsie, and we’ll all trundle off into the cold together to go to Tuesday Morning Hellmouth Extravaganza! aka……….playgroup.

But I know you’re all wondering one saliant thing: is it possible for a lone woman to apply numbing medication to a 15 month old Movement Machine on her own, and then wrap clingfilm around him?

IS IT POSSIBLE?

Is is possible when you precut pieces of tape (you know, to tape the clingfilm down cause your momma didn’t raise no fools) and stuck them to the nearest Handysitt, and two babies are methodically ripping the tape pieces off and trying to ingest them?

Oh, it is possible.

I even took a series of documentary photos with the intention of posting a ‘fun’ how-to thingie. Let’s be honest, though. When am I going to hook my camera up to the laptop? Anytime soon? No.

Suffice to say that extra clingfilm (I origianally wrote ‘slingfilm’ – obsessive much?), tape, and babylegs that go from armpit to over the fingers is pretty good at stopping your kid from biting the clingfilm off like some sort of dog. Mostly. I only had to reapply the meds/clingfilm/tape to one of the four (four!) points on his body.

The fun part is that he had an allergic reaction to the numbing medicine. And so did I.

Guess we can’t blame the sperm donor for everything, huh?

Stay tuned to hear all about how my MIL’s hubby almost killed my kid. Yeah, it doesn’t get any more dramatic than this on a Tuesday morning.

Now if you’ll excuse me, my friends, I’ve got to clean up the mess of breakfast and find 7,000 winter layers times two in preparation for the arrival of another one year old and his snarky mother.  Hey, if you’re going into the Hellmouth it’s best not to go there alone. Buffy has taught me well.

Edited to add: Oh, thank you thank you thank you for all the comments about Snort’s wacked up sleep on my last entry. They made me feel reassured, and also gave me some interesting things to think about and research. Thankfully he only ate twice last night, which is his norm.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Quite possibly the most random thing ever. And that’s saying a lot, considering it’s ME.”

  1. saralema Says:

    Yeah for waking twice! I’ve been thinking some more and I am pretty sure separation anxiety can cause some night waking about this age. I definitely think this happened with MP (initiated by illness night wakings and then continued after getting better in our case).

    Here’s my random for you- I laughed at your “heavy hitter ‘mom arguments” comments. I find the more comfortable I am becoming in my mom skin, the less I get wrapped up in those. I have decided that when I come across posts/comments on the hot topics I will read it like the author is super impressed/proud of themselves for what they do. Not in a braggy way, but more of a “OMG, I (fill in position on whatever topic)! I can’t believe I did it! I am so proud of me! High five!”

    Looking forward to reading about your bedtime routines!

    • existere Says:

      Your take on these posts is a good one – I’m going to steal it. Because you are right. When you find something that works for you, it’s like miracles and angels and rainbows and you just want to tell everyone how great it is, because SURELY it’ll be perfect for everyone else, too.;) Crazy.

      I am relaxing about all of this stuff too, because I know we’re happy with how we do things. I think I am making good choices to help raise strong, smart, curious, wonder-filled children….and so if other people do things differently? It doesn’t mean WE are doing the best thing for OUR kids, i you get what I mean!

Leave a Reply

