To my friends.

by

My ‘internet friends’ have sent us amazing homemade quilts for the babies to snuggle under. They’ve sent money for diapers, toy slings, books, changing mats, blank books.

My ‘internet friends’ have been there when I needed to ask someone about chicken pox, eczema, ‘feminine issues’, cancer. They’ve discussed, argued, and agreed with me on topics like mental health, twin parenting, writing, and poop.

My ‘internet friends’ have been there when I was alone in a little cabin with no phone reception. They texted my wife and tweeted to me, so that we could be in communication when she had taken one of our babies to hospital. They offered support while I quietly freaked out about not knowing which hospital it was.

My ‘internet friends’ have asked me interesting questions, made me laugh, offered me sound advice.ย  They have emailed, facebooked, commented here, tweeted, texted, and written me letters. I’ve met some in person and would like to meet more.

These people, the ones I know some people might refer to in quotations, are not just ‘internet friends.’ They are friends.

Ordinary, exemplary, smart men and women who make my life a little brighter because they are in it. I appreciate these people. I root for these people in times of hardship, I compete with these people for wordcounts of works in progress, I learn more about them than I know about many people who are not ‘internet friends.’

Thank you. You know who you are.

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “To my friends.”

  1. Violetsouffle Says:

    Awww! Huge hugs. You deserve all the goodness in the world. I’m so glad to know you too, though hopefully it won’t *always* be an internet friendship sort of thing ๐Ÿ™‚

    • existere Says:

      So, seriously. Move here already! Except maybe wait until WE move to our final grown up lifetime house….so you guys can be in the same town. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Jehefinner Says:

    I love you too honey โ™กโ™กโ™ก

    • existere Says:

      You really have no idea how grateful I was of your help that night, and how much it meant to me to be able to count on you. Thank you.

  3. Christy Says:

    I so love you.

  4. mamacrow Says:

    gorgeous post ๐Ÿ˜€
    I was nodding emphatically over every word – this is my experience too โค

  5. tia Says:

    i love you.

  6. Katie B. Says:

    I love you.

    I decided long ago that people form relationships online just as solid as those made any other way. After all, no one says that pen pals who may never meet can’t truly be friends..

Leave a Reply

