I’ve got my philosophy.

by

I am an oversharer. You think I overshare on this blog? You ain’t met me in person. I’ve got gestures, facial expressions, miming.

Nothing makes me happier than sharing a good story and making people laugh. Except being genuine about who I am, which often requires a good level of honesty about my life. I don’t mind. I like it.

So today I’m in line for playgroup with a friend and her baby. We’re talking about wanting more babies, and I am telling her about how I’ve been in contact with the clinic about eggsharing (I almost said ‘oversharing,’ how funny.), about donor sperm, etc. I’m not talking at the top of my lungs or anything, but I’m certainly not talking in hushed whispers about fertility treatment.

Surely this stuff needs to be normalized.

Anyway.

We go in, we play, etc etc. I broke out the slings and had Coco in a shorty rebozo carry (and I tied that slipknot like a professional, somehow) and this lady comes up to me. Of course I’m weeing in excitement because I think she’s going to ask me about babywearing.

Nope.

‘I overheard you talking about eggsharing and things…and I wanted to ask you a few questions. Unless this is too personal? I know this is a personal subject.’

I laughed, sat down, and patted the seat next to me.  ‘Nothing is too personal, ask away. I’m happy to answer any questions you have.’

Turns out she’s from a particular country in Africa with good healthcare, and she’s a bit fucking shocked at fertility treatments here in Country B. I told her we went to a ritzy titzy clinic because of The Gay, and we had a big ol’ chat. I found out she’d lost twins at 20 weeks (horrible), and her adorable son was the product of insemination.

I told her about how great our clinic was, about our treatment, etc. We went on to breastfeeding, ivf, being an ‘older mother’ and the fertility pressures associated with wanting children as you age. She asked for my number before I left.

See, this is why I live outloud.

You never know who you can connect with, who you may help, just by being unafraid to be authentically you.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “I’ve got my philosophy.”

  1. Kylie Hodges (kykaree) Says:

    I’m an oversharer too. Since having Joseph I’ve gotten worse!!! And its great. I tried holding back once and this lady was just looking at Joseph and then looked sadly at me and said “I’ve just had a new great nephew but I don’t think he’s going to live”. Turns out he was a 27 weeker, just like Joseph, and actually was huge 2lb 2 oz (Joseph was 1lb 7oz)

    Her whole attitude changed after talking to me, and she had some tips on how to support her niece.

    Yay for oversharing!

  2. saralema Says:

    This made me both so happy to know you and sad you no longer live near. You are an awesome and inspirational soul Existere.

  3. talesofanunplannedpregnancy Says:

    You’re so bad ass. ❤

  4. Katie B. Says:

    Love. Just… love.

  5. Jem Says:

    I am loud all the time… just gets me into trouble though 😡 Maybe it’s the things I say.

  6. mamacrow Says:

    you da awesome! and.. miming?! wow *mind boggles*

Leave a Reply

