I like me.

by

I like me because I got locked in a bathroom today and
I laughed and laughed and laughed.
I said, ‘At least I’ve got water
and a toilet.’

I like me because I have fun chasing my two year old
niece in public on my tip toes while
cackling like a witch
and proclaiming to all and sundry that
I’M GOING TO GET HER!!! while she laughs so
hard she snorts and squeals.

I like me because sometimes when one of my
kids has a
snotty nose I wipe under it with my finger
and then wipe it on my sock.

I like me because when my son climbs up onto
a mini piano stool to bang on a mini piano,
I lunge for a camera
and joke,
‘This picture was taken two minutes before he
broke his leg,’
and then even though I keep laughing on the outside,
I get a little worried on the inside,
but take the picture anyway.

I like me because I have a big heart. Because
I have a big brain. Because I keep on letting
dreams grow even though so many times
they wither,
like my candy corn crops on farmville.
Good thing I have a big supply of
unwither to go with my
big supply of hope.

I like me because I like sleeping naked,
because pregnancy seems to have permanently
fucked up my ankles and made them chubby,
but I have some gooooood pairs of socks that
make it all okay.

I like me because I like having fun,
I like scary movies,
I like being me even when that means that
I am wearing a big purple coat
and dancing with my babies in a coffee shop
and letting small fingers push
blueberries into my mouth
and

I don’t care if they drop on my clothes.
I like my stains. I like my imperfections.

I like me.

Because.

Me, I mean – The Tunnel Monster Who
Chases Babies And Eats Them For
Breakfast.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “I like me.”

  1. talesofanunplannedpregnancy Says:

    love.

  2. Lara Says:

    I like you too. And I love this! 🙂

  3. Jess Says:

    Beautiful!! Awesome post!

    Hey, I did a shout out to you! Just wanted to let you know that I like you too! 😉

  4. Bobbie Says:

    I love your reasoning and your ability to just be you! I swear I have 3 shirts unstained by little hands feeding me or me feeding my little one and I don’t mind at all. It just means I have a well fed, well loved baby.

Leave a Reply

