NaNoWriMo.

by

NaNoWriMo: (inter)National Novel Writing Month. Start from scratch on November 1 and you’ve got all month to write a 50,000 word novel. Or the first 50,000 words of a novel.

The website is here.

You can sign up and play in the forums, create your own profile, keep track of your word count, buy cool stuff (I want it all, will be buying none. *sad face*), get badges for your blog, donate and support a good cause or two, and get winner’s goodies if you manage to accomplish this. You also have the option to meet up with local people for a write in or various nerd parties.

I’m on there. I’ve signed up with a brand spanking new account about 25 minutes ago.

Are you doing it? Leave your username in the comments and I’ll friend you. You’ll know it’s me.

Tags:

5 Responses to “NaNoWriMo.”

  1. Jennie Says:

    I did NaNo a few years ago – it was very satisfying at the end of the month to see what I’d achieved!

    • existere Says:

      So satisfying you’d do it again?

      • Jennie Says:

        I’d love to, if only because I relished the mad challenge of writing as much as I possibly could in the time (I think I made it to about 163000 words; no idea how!). Unfortunately, the pain in my hands really won’t let me take part again for the foreseeable future…unless I can find some mad fool who is willing to take a couple of hours dictation every day for a month! I even had a really good idea a couple of weeks ago. It was the middle of the night, and I woke up with it fully formed in my head. I grabbed a bit of paper and scrawled it out (in the dark, didn’t want to risk going somewhere I could turn a light on in case I forgot before I got there!). It was surprisingly legible in the morning!

        • existere Says:

          There is something called …uh, something like tap a talk. I know I can get it on my phone. Essentially, i can talk into the phone and it will transcribe it. I don’t actually have it, but I know people who do and like it.

  2. Crazycolours Says:

    Yep I’m doing it this year – same username as twitter! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

