Looking for a soulmate.

by

Marching around in a circle with my children as we stamp our feet and sing puts me less in the mind of ‘awesome playgroup’ and more in the mind of ‘Hitlerian parade.’

Surely I’m not the only one.

9 Responses to “Looking for a soulmate.”

  1. Violetsouffle Says:

    Has never done a playgroup. Fuck marching in circles and talking about just our kids for an hour because we think other parents have no personality outside them anymore…I’d rather do NOTHING all week than be soulless for an hour.

    • existere Says:

      I love playgroup. They have cool toys we don’t, they have lots of other kids, they have new experiences. I like the parents, too. We don’t have TOO much time to talk because we are building or having tea parties or whatever, but I’ve met some lovely people! The singing happens for a few minutes at the end….though today was the first day with the marching!

  2. Christy Says:

    That does seem very Hitlerisk. Weird.

  3. saralema Says:

    At our music class,we make a tunnel and then we run through, holding the kiddo, while music plays. It makes me think I should have wore my hoop skirt, or at the very least, my crinoline. I don’t feel Hilterian, but more like I am in “The Sound of Music.” Of course, I think they are the same time era, aren’t they?

  4. catsandcradles Says:

    I would think more Brave New World, myself. Isn’t there something in there about how they all go to groups to chant and march around in circles periodically? I’m pretty sure that there is, but I don’t remember exact details, since it’s been years since I read the book last.

  5. boo Says:

    have you sung “little peter rabbit has a fly upon his nose”? it goes to the tune of “my eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the lord” and it just cracks me up. especially the bit where we sing floppy ears and curly whiskers to the chorus of glory glory hallelujah! all i can see is flamming crosses..

Leave a Reply

