Baby fever?

by

I’m still here….and so is my mom. Hence the lack of updates.

A lot has been happening, but nothing quite compares to Snort’s cornea ‘bubbling’ yesterday. Or his big stay in the children’s ward for half a day while they waited to see if his eye would explode or he would stop breathing from The Allergies.

Still, we move on. Sort of.

I popped him in a sling yesterday while he was screaming uncontrollably and ripping at his eye, all the while his face swelling till he looked (as TMD said) like the Elephant Man. My little 20 or 30 minute stretch of babywearing has literally crippled me, and I can’t walk today without crutches. Thank god my mom is here, because I couldn’t walk and hold a baby. And with all the shitty nappies happening, that would be a bit of a grotesque nightmare.

I am just more and more blown away by how much I love them. It’s growing. And so are they. I love love love the baby stage and am actively thinking about trying to conceive number three.

I don’t actually know anyone – online or otherwise – who had another pregnancy after giving birth to multiples. Most of my palsies have had one baby, and then twins naturally. Or a set of twins with IVF and that’s it. I think, perhaps, twins ‘break’ people from wanting more children.

It hasn’t broken me. Well, I mean, of course it HAS broken me literally, but not my spirit!!!

I would love to be pregnant again (I reread my pregnancy days on this blog and wonder why I would ever do that to myself again, though!). Last time it was because I wanted to have the wonder and dreamland of pregnancy. This time it’s because I want another child.

If we’re going to do this, if I am going to get pregnant again, I guess I really ought to lose the weight. *sigh*

It doesn’t come off naturally for me because, well, I like being fat. Not all aspects of it, but the eating food and not exercising thing is totally awesome and worth it. For reals.

But with this new improved relapse that has me unable to walk again, well, shit. I need to lose it. I want some sort of inspirational application on my phone that will send me magical encouraging messages every day. Or some sort of talisman to stick in my bra and carry around with me. Or…or….

Anyway.

Mom’s cooking me an omelette as my curvy and gorgeous ass sits here on our couch, a baby napping on either side of me. Little feet are pressed against me from both sides; it’s like a reverse pregnancy. And while I would not-so-secretly quite like to have another set of twins, realistically I think we’d be aiming for a singleton pregnancy next time.

It’s a shame, as I’ve got a nice set of boy-girl twin names all picked out.

Tags: , , ,

9 Responses to “Baby fever?”

  1. PottyMouthMommy Says:

    i so totally know how you feel about wanting another… right now, I’m sleep deprived, caring for a seriously colicky, demanding little diva- and all I want is to get pregnant again… despite the HELL my last pregnancy was…

    But even at their worst, these little humans are just so wonderful… and when they look up at you with all the love in the world it just makes you wanna melt into a big pool of gushyness!!

    If I could- I’d probably have a dozen…

  2. Winnie Says:

    If you guys went with IVF again, which I gather is going to be the most likely case, could you choose to only have 1 egg implanted? Or just hope for a singleton?

    • existere Says:

      This is a tricky subject and I should really write a whole post!!

      Legally we can have one or two embryos put back. If we had two excellent embryos like last time, we would only put one back. The tough call would be if the embryos weren’t such high quality, because then putting back only one lowers the chances significantly. The shit thing is that we would have to decide on the day, as you don’t find out the grade of the embryos until about 2 minutes before they transfer them.

  3. mamacrow Says:

    I certainly know of people who’ve had babies after twins – the Duggers for one!

    aw, little baby feet pressing into you… ‘melt’

    I’m SURE someone somewhere has written that kind of application, too… masses of luck, anyhow xx

  4. Katie B. Says:

    I know a mom local to me who had IVF twins, an unplanned bonus singleton, and is actively working on more IVF babies (she actually just lost a transfer a week or so ago). So there are real people who do it, not just weird reality show types.

    Personally, I think she’s crazy for courting more twins, but if it makes her happy, who am I to gainsay her? (That would be me with the SPD that’s twice as bad this time as with my first baby, and already thinking about the third… that’s also crazy!)

    I don’t think you’re crazy for wanting more babies. More twins… well, I wouldn’t choose it, but it’s your choice, not mine! πŸ™‚

  5. Jess Says:

    I hear ya, I’m thinking of Bub #2 now too! We’re going to start trying after our wedding in Feb next year πŸ˜‰

    I was a singleton and I’m the eldest, born when my mother was only 22. I was only 16 months old when my twin (identical) sisters were born. Every time I think of it I’m just amazed.

    xx

  6. 1xMum Says:

    My doula had non IVF fraternal twins via emergency C-Section, and then a singleton by VBAC. It does happen πŸ™‚

    P.S. I am in the depths of baby fever myself right now….. hard.

Leave a Reply

