Birthday Eve.

by

This time last year you were still Mano and Torre.

You were still kicking and rolling and hiccuping beings. We were parents-in-waiting. I was so nervous about tomorrow, your birthday. We spent the last evening before you came watching a DVD about how to give babies baths, change nappies, etc – and we were so certain we were unprepared.

And you know? We were.

I would never have imagined you both to be so sunny, so happy, so….you. Coconut, your beaming face and infectious smile make my heart sing. Snort, your run-crawling across the room to get to me, big teeth on display as you grin with your eyes squeezed shut – oh, you are so precious.

This time last year I didn’t really believe we were going to have babies. Despite the fact that my stomach sat on my knees when I was sitting on my bum, despite the fact that it was almost as long as a doorway. I didn’t understand that the little beings in my giant stomach were actual little people, and that those people would be you.

This time last year I was looking at my belly.

Now I’m looking down at this:

Oh, I didn’t know what we were letting ourselves in for: sharing our lives with two fantastic, joyful, funny, curious wonders. This is the last day I’ll ever be able to say ‘this time last year you were still in my belly’, and while part of me feels sad about that, another part is happy. You are on every calender day from here on out –

well, from tomorrow.

Today you are still my little ones, my babies. My favourite people in the world, the ones who belly laugh and screw their faces up to cry. Today you are 11 months old, but tomorrow you are one.

Happy almost birthday, my darlings.

What a difference a year makes.

Thank you for the best year of my life.

7 Responses to “Birthday Eve.”

  1. Natasha Says:

    I love this. I love seeing another joyful parent out there. Everywhere I look, sometimes, it seems all I come across is, “Oh they are such a nightmaire!”, “Oh wait until they start crawling” “just wait until the terrible twos” I have met every one of these milestones with my first daughter and STILL she is nothing but an absolute joy, a love and laughter bomb going off every second! Now I get, “Wait until she hits her teenage years!” Yeah, I’ve learned not to listen.

    I hate that every mum I speak to begins a setence with, “Yeah I love them but…” But WHAT? There is no “but” for me. I don’t begin my setence with an obligatory, “I love them” or “I wouldn’t change having them” and there is certainly no but. I DO love them, full stop and the thought of not having them JUST THE WAY THEY ARE makes my heart stop for a long moment.

    I love seeing that there is at least one other mum out there who seems to ‘get it’, to get parenthood the same way that I do 🙂 So thank you for sharing this with us.

    Thank you for sharing your photos, too! A year has come around all too fast I’m sure! My girls are 7.5 months old already and I know a year will be upon us soon as well. Time is going crazy-fast.

  2. Jenni Williams Says:

    Happy Birthday to you all. You are the best mothers kids could dream of having. Having a joyful heart as a mother makes all the difference in the world. It would be so easy for you to bitch about how hard twins are, esp considering your hip situation. But all I have ever heard our of you is positivity, even on bad days. You are an inspiration.

  3. bellygirls Says:

    Happy Birthday Coconut and Snort! You two are so precious and there are a world of people here in blogland that love you! 🙂

    Congrats to you both on making it a year with twins! 😉

  4. Gnome Says:

    This brought tears to my eyes for all kinds of reasons, but mainly because it’s so lovely. The photos are amazing – can’t believe how much they’ve changed in a short space of time. Look at them standing!

  5. Darlene Says:

    As usual, your writing transcends your emotions onto paper so beautifully that I feel your love and joy even though I’ve never met them . Happy Birthday little ones. And Happy BIRTH Day Mommie!

  6. Christy Says:

    I can’t believe it’s been a year either. I found your blog while you were pregnant (pretty early on) and have enjoyed this journey with you all so much. Your little people are as much my niece and nephew as my sister’s kids (sorry if that sounds creepy, it’s not meant to be).

    Happy almost first birthday twinnies and happy almost 1 full year of mommying you two.

    Much love

  7. nessienessa Says:

    Amazing post. Happy Birthday to the twins! You’ve done a great job at raising them mama. Pat yourself on the back!

Leave a Reply

