This is so good I crawl around on the floor under the table afterwards and eat the scraps. No joke.

by

And I present Cheesy! Veggie! Nuggets! to all you crazy baby led weaning peeps. Cherish them.

The added ‘cook’s notes’ belong entirely to a lovely mama who posted this recipe on the BEST BLW site: babyledweaning.com  They have an entire section of the forum devoted to recipes!

If you make these, let me know what you think of them…

7oz bread. whizzed in the processor to make crumbs,
8oz veg, used mixed frozen, cooked and drained, (I’ll probably add just a couple of oz more next time)
3-4oz cheese
1 tblsp, or slightly less, of olive oil.
(I didn’t put any baking powder in as then they just seemed to taste entirely of baking powder when I did.)

Grease a baking sheet and preheat the oven to GM5/200 degrees. Take 3 oz of the breadcrumbs out of the food processor and leave in a bowl. Put the rest of the ingredients in and whizz untill all mushed up (I didn’t bother adding water as I didn’t bother draning the veg too well- yay for lazy cooking!).

Divide into 8, scoop out, roll into a ball, roll into the breadcrumbs in the bowl and flatten into nugget shape and pop onto baking sheet. Repeat with the rest. You probably don’t need to spread them out quite as much as they hold their shape when coated it seems, but I’m not sure if you don’t want to coat them.

Bake for about 30 mins (they need longer as they’re thicker), take out and leave to cool for a mo so they harden a little before getting them out. Seem to have done the trick and Sweetpea likes them.

These cheesy veggie nuggets go down a massive TREAT with Snort and Coconut….and me, the family dog.

TMD makes these, among other things, on the weekend and freezes them. I pop them on a baking tray lined with non-stick paper – and I probably don’t cook them for the whole 30 minutes. I also don’t flip them.

I leave them for a few minutes on the tray when they’re done, then slide them onto a plate as I think they cool down faster this way. They are so good my pelvis jerks all over the place and I have to staple my lips together to avoid eating all them right up before serving them to the babies.

We had these yesterday and I actually just left the heaped plate in the middle of the table and Snort just helped himself to another one whenever he finished the one he’d been working on!

Delish.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “This is so good I crawl around on the floor under the table afterwards and eat the scraps. No joke.”

  1. PottyMouthMommy Says:

    You are my hero and I am SOOOOO going to make these now… I’m drooling just thinking of them…

    Just a question though: what type of frozen veggies work best? I’m thinking probably a broccoli/cauliflower mix but would peas and carrots work too?? hmmmm maybe time for some kitchen experimentation for me!!!

  2. existere Says:

    Hi, this is TMD. I think any old veg would be fine… I tend to use el cheapo mixed veg which is heavy on the carrots, sometimes add some extra peas and once added leftover green beans so they wouldn’t get wasted.

    Ratio I use is – 4oz bread crumbs, 4oz grated cheese, 8oz veg but accuracy is not really a necessity. Extra breadcrumbs for coating… I never leave enough!! Let me know what other veg combos are good!

  3. catsandcradles Says:

    So, um, do I have to have a baby to make these? Because they sound kind of tasty for grown-ups too.

  4. Tatiana Says:

    Yeah, these sound good. I’ll make em soon and let you know. Also, the line about being the family dog cracked me up 😛

  5. Darlene Says:

    What does GM5/200 translate into in terms of an American oven?

Leave a Reply

