Humbled.

by

Coconut, for my memory:

You are the most joyous little girl soul I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting. You are always smiling. You’re more discerning with the laughs, but raspberries on your tummy or neck never fail. You love to be cuddled to sleep. You will play on your own for a long, long time, though you like playing with any of us as well. You put one finger up against your nose while sucking your thumb.

You roll from side to side, grunting with effort. You love the monkey you loved at two weeks old. You laugh when I am bent over, tying you onto my back. You are so beautiful in such an elemental way I can’t believe it. You like licking veggies. You don’t poop very much. You love your bunny, you are so alert, you sing as you fall asleep or ride in the car. You sleep through the night with no exceptions.

You are so soft and cuddley and alert.

Snort, for my memory:

No matter how hard you are crying, you will stop if I snap my fingers for you. You stick out your right hand and click your pointer and thumb together, again and again while we snap, trying desperately to snap your own fingers. You screech like an enraged dinosaur. You laugh at anything.

You are a drama queen, your nose is always stuffy, you LOVE your musical hot air balloon thing. You are a fabric sucker. You like to suck all four fingers of your left hand with one layer of fabric on them. You can expertly manoveur bib, muslin, baby (his pink blanket), blankie, my shirt – anything to get fabric into your mouth. When you succeed, your eyes roll back in your head in ecstacy.

You have the most beautiful blue eyes – they are stunning and more than a bit take-a-second-glance-ish. You flip onto your stomach and sccccccccccccream. You obviously want to be walking, crawling, moving – now. You get a proud and delighted look on your face when you stand up on my lap.

You love phones, computers. You sit on my lap, sometimes till you fall asleep and your head jerks. I love creaming your body just because you are such a pretty and gorgeous baby. You like when I bite your tummy.

Both of you, for your memories:

Our hearts expand every day with love for you. When Coconut is put down and her face crumples, when Snort wakes once a night for a quick hug. No matter how tired we are, being with each of you is a deep delight, joy, honour. You are everything to us.

I love you, Snort, for who you are. I love you, Coconut, for who you are.

You’re so alike in some ways, so different in others. But the one thing we all share is an obvious love for each other. Oh, how your faces light up for your mummies, for your twin. You both are so funny, so laughy, so interested in the world around you.

Thank you.

4 Responses to “Humbled.”

  1. Tatiana Says:

    You are all so wonderful. I love that your posts are so full of joy, and while I know you still work very very hard, it’s nice to know that you four are having more fun together and things are less stressful. It makes me smile every time I think of TWO happy, giggly babies.

  2. PottyMouthMommy Says:

    beautiful…

  3. eccedentesiast Says:

    Beautiful 🙂

    “You love the monkey you loved at two weeks old”

    This made me smile.

    J (5years) still has his “Blue Bear” and G (3), her “Bunny”. My sister (18) still has her rabbit “Benny” in her room.

    Love to all of you x

  4. Christy Says:

    So lovely!!

    How super cute that Snort tries to snap.

Leave a Reply

