I got sweaty!

by

Um, hello today! Hello! Hi. How ya doin’?

I went for my first ever ever walk outside while tandem wearing the babies today. Coconut was semi-securely (ha!) in my new-to-me purple wrap on the front, while Snort was having a very good look around at the world from my new-to-me Connecta on my back! Aussie was here, so she popped on his hat once he was on me – and then popped on her baby in the Close carrier we have on loan.

No, this isn’t just a list of the carriers we used today.

It’s pointing out that: 1) I left the house during the day, 2) I left the house while babywearing today, 3) I walked today.

We didn’t go far. Just to the end of our little street, turn right, walk a bit, come back. Then down the side of our house on the path through the green green space, back into the house. Voile. Hey presto. Maybe about ten minutes, realistically speaking.

But I did it.

I did. Me. The one who’s been in a wheelchair for months? The one who can be in so much pain from SPD that it hurts me to change diapers? Yeah, me. ME. The past few days I have noticed a dramatic reduction in my SPD pain. So much so that I have been focused on my aching back muscles (if you think wearing babies doesn’t work your muscles, oh, my friend, think again!) and not really noticing any major SPD pain. My right hip is still tricky, and my back pelvic joint is still a little bitchy, but on the whole I think I have made some major healing steps.

Oh, and my other dream came true. As we were walking down the street, my crazy ass train friend John ran out of his house after us to say hello. He’s gotten a divorce, and I asked him if I was the reason he had done so. Obviously, he said yes.

He also thought Walnut was Snort, and Aussie was just a pal helping me walk my babies. Yes, because I have one white baby and one brown baby. While that is possible, I suppose, is it likely? That being said, I want to take a minute to sing the praises of my favourite non-child baby. He is lush. (And not just because he clearly adores my all singing, all dancing auntie ass.)

As is his mother. Having a friend like Aussie is priceless. I say, let me tell you all my crazy thoughts. She nods and tells me her crazy thoughts, which fit beside mine like pieces of a puzzle. She says, let me tell you how fucking weird I am with my partner, I nod and say, yes, I did that to TMD last week. Utter and complete honesty on both sides brings me laughter and relief.

So does this little ten minute walk. The only downside is that I didn’t have my camera to make John take a picture of Aussie, me, and the three bablets – or to make Aussie take a picture of me with John. Ha!

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “I got sweaty!”

  1. Christine LaRocque Says:

    I’ll admit, you lost me on this one! But I’m so pleased you got out. May this be the beginning of a future full of walks.

  2. apieceofwood Says:

    Yey…. well done you!

  3. boo Says:

    on’ya! having gone through SPD, albeit not as bad or as long, i’m all for walks, going out without crutches, going out without having to explain the weird white belt thing that looks like a torture implement and feels just as nice, in fact just being out. does it for me. hope you have many more pain free days blending into months and years. dance that crazy ass dance!

  4. Christy Says:

    I hate it when I really want to take a picture but my camera isn’t near by or with me at all. It’s such a bummer. I guess it means that you will just have to take more walks with Aussie so you can try to get the shot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

