A wish-filled semi-blogroll?

by

I think people often use New Year’s resolutions in a wish-making way. Like, ‘I wish this was the year I would lose 30 pounds, get a new job, buy a house, etc etc.’ I don’t think wishes without action often give us much, not do I think actions without hope can be very inspired.

Regardless, if I had wishes for New Year’s? I would allocate some of them to other people.

I wish apieceofwood would get pregnant this year. She’s funny, she’s got a dirty sailor mouth, she’s friendly, she’s genuine. Her kid would have a lot of fun with her, I feel, despite the fact that I have not met her in real life. I don’t know much about her husband – okay, anything – but I’m assuming he is also awesome since she likes him. If you have spare time or wishes, go offer her support as she faces the dreaded needles of IVF yet again.

I also wish that Becky and Holly would get knocked up. They have been through a lot on their voyage to conceive, things I keep trying to write here and then erasing because it seems too private – despite the fact that it is in their blog. Becky’s tummy wants to get stretch marks and be kicked and have kisses from Holly, okay, universe? If you have some more spare time and like the lesbian families (which of course you do, dear readers, as you are reading about MY lesbolicious family) go say hi to these fun, adventurous, yearning moms-to-be.

There are a lot of hopes I have for people in this world, most of whom are faces I’ve only seen in pictures. Some, though, are people I love and hug and kiss. I wish that my dear friend Aussie will have a miraculously beautiful wedding, and oh, how I wish we could be there with her on her big day. I wish that I could have spent every day of my two weeks at home with Cookie, not because she’s oh-so-Jewish and brought us food every time we saw her, but because she is home to me. I wish that Compadre and C Dawg continue to laugh as much together this year as they did last year.

I wish my sister peace. Inner peace, understanding, some little pool of calm inside herself – even as she continues to explore the world, her world, and do all sorts of adventurous physical shit.

And of the other bloggers I could write seven thousand words about because I have read their millions of words? I wish I could meet and hang out with her (and I hope she loves her new house) and her (she already feels like someone I should be meeting for cake immediately!) – because twim moms need to stick together. I wish for the continued growth and beauty of this girl and that girl, and their gorgeous mothers. I wish that this woman regains control over her body. I wish for this girl to see how beautiful she is.

I think blogs can be little pieces of miracles. I went back the other day and reread our time trying to conceive with IVF (November 2008, kids), I read our pregnancy again. And through it all, I was like, ‘Don’t give up, little happy and hopeful women. This is going to work. Snort and Coconut are going to come.’ And that story was already written, already had the happy ending.

I have to believe the same is true for people I care about, even if their happy endings are not yet committed to paper.

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “A wish-filled semi-blogroll?”

  1. apieceofwood Says:

    Thank you lovely lady.. you’ve made me go awwww on this side of the computer and I needed it today.. thank you thank you.. I hope all of your wishes come true this year.. x

  2. Erika Says:

    What a great idea…wishes for others. I like it!

  3. Christine LaRocque Says:

    This is pure awesome!

  4. Christy Says:

    I 100% want to say ditto to Christine. So awesome.

    And thank you for including me and Lily, we feel so loved.

  5. tia Says:

    i love you more than words.

  6. 2momswithaplan Says:

    You are awesome. Thank you for the wishes! 🙂

    Much Love to you!

  7. Tatiana Says:

    In a lot of ways, this is the perfect post. Love you, lady.

  8. Gliding through motherhood Says:

    I awwwwed too – great post! 🙂 And I’d love to hang out! You could come to my new fabulously painted house full of sick kids. Or wait, they won’t be sick forever. Right? RIGHT!? (Sorry, I went on a tangent – it’s been a rough week 😉

Leave a Reply

