Underrated reasons to babywear:

by

If you wear a baby to the shops, your hands are free on the way home to hold a Rice Krispie treat and a Diet Coke.

In other news, did you read the subtext? I walked all the way to the shops yesterday! With a baby on my tummy! My back started clicking about halfway there, but I decided to push on. My legs were supersore and my crotchly SPD hurt a bit, but nothing like I had expected. Is this the first step to being able to wear both and walk to baby clinic (across from the shops)?

In other other news, I shot a how-to video for tandem wearing twins with a wrap on front and a Connecta on the back. I need to reshoot as, uh, it was my first attempt with this combo of carriers (and will not be my last! SO EASY, so comfy, such good weight distribution) and it was hard to use the hip scoot to get Snort on my back. In the video, it looks as if I’m *clears throat* close to dropping him. Don’t worry. I wasn’t. He clings to my hips and back like a limpet, as does his sister.

But I am wondering about these videos. I’ve had a number of people approach me with tandem wearing, or solo wearing, questions. I think videos are so frickin’ helpful, much better than reading descriptions or looking at pictures. But…post the videos here? A different blog? Just facebook/youtube?

I’m not sure. I have opened another wordpress blog in case I decide to go down that route. At any rate, when a video is ready, would you be interested in seeing it? Would it be helpful? It demonstrates a good carry for a singleton on the front, and then also shows how to get a structured soft carrier with buckles on the back – and how the two work together. Input, please.

This obviously links into the whole anonymity thing. Hmm.

But:

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Underrated reasons to babywear:”

  1. Christy Says:

    Yay for taking a walk while babywearing and not feeling too bad with SPD. I wish I could take walks right now but with all the snow and ice I don’t dare, I am super clumsy and just feel like no matter how wrapped up Lily is her face is exposed and that isn’t right.

    Oh right, back to you…

    You know my very scattered thoughts on you posting videos. All I have to add is I love your crown.

  2. The Top 3 Reasons You Should Use the Reverse Phone Detective! | phonedetectiveplus.com Says:

    […] Underrated reasons to babywear: « existere (latin): to stand out … […]

  3. Darlene Says:

    Hmmm, maybe you could be like the unknown comic in the videos…just wear some sort of disguise like a mask and wig…..that would be fun to watch for everyone. lol

    As for the SPD, hope you don’t over due. Those two need you to be as healthy as you can be because the four of you have a lot of years ahead.

  4. Megs Says:

    Well done on your walk!!!!! Its great that it went better than expected, you deserve something to go your way with this whole SPD thing! And I dont think its a crown, I think its Bart Simpson hair. Cowabunga, dude! 🙂

Leave a Reply

