Five months old, one more month as a baby baby. *sigh*

by

You are five months old today, and you are both impossibly beautiful.

Snort, you are a chatty, happy little boy. You’ve recently discovered the pleasures of yelling to express frustration, but mainly you laugh, laugh, laugh. You like big, weird surprises….in the middle of a nice song, if I yell BOOM you are transported to new levels of joy.You like sitting on my lap, being walked around, and obviously can’t wait till you don’t have to depend on us (as much) to move around. You have mastered the skill of taking off your enemy, the scratch mitt.

Thumb sucking Coconut, you always look like you are about to burst from a pure joy in being alive. You wake up with smiles and kicks, you beam in response to anyone looking at you. You are learning the yell as well, but you also like to talk to Snort….who likes smiling at you. You are great at standing up on my lap, which is surprising and scary and wonderful. You love it when I blow raspberries on your naked tummy, and so do I.

I’m not sure how five months passed; I know it entailed a lot of sore boobs, bottle washing, poop that smells buttery, tears, and tiredness. Somehow it is easier to think about how Coconut’s face crinkles up when I kiss her neck. How Snort curls up against me after burps (sitting up, always sitting up) and softly snores.

What have I learned in these five months? Quite a lot. I can get a baby on me in wrap or ring sling in about five seconds flat, in multiple positions. In fact, I can get two babies on me without too much thought. I know how many minutes it takes to sterilize a bottle. I know how to change a diaper in about twelve seconds.

But did I ever imagine what it would be like to look at these two little people and be so proud of who they are? And so amazed that they came from me, and we are raising this boy and this girl, who have been their own people from day one. I am in love love love, and I never stop being thankful for the great blessings in my life.

I’ve got one more month with you both as baby babies, no solid food, no crawling, no talking. I am going to hold you tight this next month, but I am also going to rejoice every time I see your other Mum holding you, or the times I see you holding each other.

(On Twitter, I just said, ‘I want to smother my babies with love until they are so dependent they’ll eventually need to stuff my corpse and keep it in their hotel attic.’ But that wasn’t totally true. I don’t necessarily want you to go into business together as hotel owners.)

Tags: ,

8 Responses to “Five months old, one more month as a baby baby. *sigh*”

  1. Annie @ PhD in Parenting Says:

    They are adorable. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and your pics.

  2. eccedentesiast Says:

    I actually can’t believe it’s been 5 months. Your pregnancy seemed to take forever (in a good, “I want to see the babies now now now!” sorta way). They’re growing up so fast 🙂

    Have fun with them. Two twins running around (soon), gabbling to each other sounds like a beautiful way to spend your time.

    How’s the eczema (sp?) by the way?

    Love and Stuff x

  3. ironicmom Says:

    Thanks for the walk down memory lane. It made me think of when my b/g twins were that age. And I laughed at loud at your tweet. It’s Monday, and I needed that laugh. Thank you!

  4. 2 Funny Babies Laughing | WeCharts.com Says:

    […] Five months old, one more month as a baby baby. *sigh* « existere … […]

  5. halfadozen Says:

    Its amazing how quickly it goes… I know what a cliche that is, but its true! Its wonderful that you are consciously soaking up every moment of it– that is one of my regrets. I just kept waiting for the next big step (I wasn;t crazy about the baby age), that I missed out a bit on those earlier days…

    They are aboslutely adorable– their inner joy radiates from them in those pictures! being a parent is the absolutely, positively best thing in the whole world. How could it be anything less, when we wake up to drooly smiles and cuddles (and it doesn’t stop when they get older– at least not for mine!)

  6. Christy @ Jinxyisms Says:

    How totally sweet!

    I can not believe 5 months have passed already, it seems like just yesterday you were feeling them kick for the first time.

  7. Anna Says:

    Oh God, sometimes your blog makes me want a baby in my life so much I could SCREAM! My grandson is ten (ten and a half, actually, Granny, nearer eleven really) and still an absolute ray of sunshine, but well, there’s nothing in the world better than a baby, especially a family baby who will always be part of your life. I am so happy for you all xx

  8. CJ Says:

    Wow. Five months. Really? I demand they stop growing, just for a bit!

Leave a Reply

