Babywearing of the last couple of weeks…

by

Don’t claim to be an expert, do claim to be creative in (tandem) times of need…

This first picture is of both babies in one wrap. A wrap is a wide, very long piece of fabric. I prefer woven wraps, but this is a semi-stretchy one. I got this because it’s apparently hot shit for tandem (two kids) wearing, but I don’t actually like it all that much. Still, it cuts a pretty picture:

Next up, I had Snort in one woven wrap on my front when Coconut started fussing. I didn’t know what to do, so I grabbed a ringsling and, well, slung her next to him. This was surprisingly comfy, very easy to do, and I would probably do it again for an emergency quick fix. Not for long walks.

Finally, two babies in two wraps. This happened because the very secure wrap I wanted to do with one wrap wouldn’t work (it wasn’t long enough). As I was on my own, I felt safer getting one baby onto my back and securing him before then getting her on my front. Have done several variations of this during the week. Would still prefer one wrap as I only have very long wraps, and wearing a baby on your back actually doesn’t require too much fabric, so I have tons left over. With only one baby, this isn’t too much of a problem, but with two you don’t want huge swathes of fabric everywhere. Still, I felt pretty awesome doing this all by my lonesome!!

So, what do you think? If you want to know more, just ask questions in the comments and I will happily answer them in a future post. Babywearing is about the best thing in the universe….after actually having the babies, that is.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Babywearing of the last couple of weeks…”

  1. Christine LaRocque Says:

    My word! I had no idea it could be so complicated. I didn’t wear either of my babies much. I had a wrap but just couldn’t get comfortable with it. I usually just hook ’em on my hip and do as much as I can. Everyone tells me it’s because I didn’t have the right kind of wrap, but who has the money to keep trying new ones. Good for you for being so industrious!

  2. Jinxy Says:

    I just continue to be so impressed with your babywearing abilities. I can barely get my one baby to let me wear her and yet you manage to get two to fall asleep while being worn.

    So far I’ve tried a Moby wrap (very long fabric wrapped and wrapped around me), a hotsling (it was a gift and surprisingly too big) a bjorn type thing I hate and a mei tai. The mei tai is my favorite. I feel Lil is the safest in it. I have a home made ring sling coming to me soon and I’m really excited to try it out.

  3. CJ Says:

    You are the babywearing champ! I crown you Lady Babywearer of the Razors!

  4. Darlene Says:

    I hope this doesn’t continue up till they’re in to elementery school or you’ll have biceps like The Terminator!

    By the way….I after many months here, have no idea WTF ‘SPD’ stands for. It makes for a lot of confusing blog posts for me. lol

  5. poppycat Says:

    Damn impressive mama! If I do end up with twins I know who to look to for advice.

    Thanks for your supportive comments on my post. It made me feel better about being so sure about this.

    Your babes are gorgeous. How is it I haven’t know you were in the blogosphere before this? I just read back through some of your posts and they are fantastic!

Leave a Reply

