6 weeks 4 days after giving birth, an update.

by

Today is day one of Gina Ford’s twins routine – TMD’s baby for the day is Snort, and I’ve got Coconut. Tomorrow we swap. The idea is that we follow the routine, but it’s more gentle for the babies because the one who is waiting has someone there to soothe him/her. Don’t know how we’ll get on with this routine, but are going to do it the whole weekend. I really, really wish Mil wasn’t going to be here today.

I’m reading a Winnicot book (perhaps all my counselling training shall soon rear its ugly head in regards to the psychological development of babies), and it is making me more and more ready for her to be gone! We are not going to let her feed today, because it takes her upwards of an hour (or more) per baby, what with the copious and mental winding.

The other thing I’ve done this morning (as TMD is shhing and soothing away in the bedroom, convincing the babies that yes, we really do think they should have a snooze) is dig out my old Weight Watchers book. I did the little quiz to see how many points per day I should be eating. I’m not saying I’m going weight-crazy or anything, but I am thinking about how to make sure I am eating enough of the right foods. Pregnancy and early parenthood have fucked with me. I also weighed myself, just out of curiousity.

I am exactly the same weight as I was when I started Weight Watchers a few years ago. For those of you newish to the blog, I lost about 60 pounds then. I find it odd (and exciting?) that I weigh the same now. Perhaps it is a good omen, and all things considered, I did pretty well considering it was twins! When I checked out of the hospital, I was 19 pounds lighter after giving birth. (I gained 50 pounds exactly during pregnancy….yes, from a higher weight than my final WW one. Shoot me.) I have also lost 5 pounds since coming home – probably due to the fact that I exist on cereal and diet coke.

I know a major part of my recovery is going to be fitness. Pilates is on the agenda – like I have time to pop in a DVD and exercise? I need to strengthen my core muscles to help my back and hips. My pelvis is still jackity wackity, and I DO NOT want to have surgery (though I will start asking questions if I reach 6 months post-partum and am still all broken). Bottom line: I need to be able to walk, so I can push the pram in case we need to go to the doctor’s or whatever. I may not be able to do a load of muscle exercises now, though I am dutifully doing what the physio has proscribed, but losing some weight would make it easier on my joints as well.

And let’s not forget my legs: after sevenish months of not walking, it has been difficult to move around the flat. My legs are finally feeling normal and like they can support my body, so yay!

Anyway.

Snort is now out of bed and in his bouncer in the nice, bright lounge. Oh, Gina.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “6 weeks 4 days after giving birth, an update.”

  1. Megs Says:

    I’ll give you the advice I heard over and over again when I was working with mums of kids under five regarding eating, sleeping and general routine. Dont even bother trying to implement any routine you can’t follow consistently. But if you can and do, the first couple days suck big time. Consider them a sacrifice to the Gods of Parental Sanity and just write them off. The good news is that kids are super flexible, and very soon you will find that your hard work has paid off! Good luck!!!! 🙂 x x

  2. Jinxy Says:

    Wow I’m like 17 posts behind. I’m sorry, but I don’t want to read if I can’t comment and Lily has been crazy lately. Ok enough about me…

    All I have to say in response to this is take it slow. With a C-section it take a very long time for the muscles to heal up. My nurse had a section and ended up in the hospital because of a back injury at 3.5 months post, from bending to pick up a gallon of milk.

Leave a Reply

