Welcome.

by

How could I ever imagine I could go from this

blog preg

to this

IMG_0637

?

I had no idea that she would make these ridiculous little faces, forehead wrinkled and lips open in a surprised ‘o.’ I had no idea how rosy and tiny she would be. How she would instantly look into my eyes and stare at me.

IMG_0891

And him? The snorting sounds he makes when he tries to feed, the restless kicks and wiggles of his sleep, the endlessly loud hiccups that will always wake him up. How could I know those movements in my womb would yield a real little boy?

IMG_0986

And the feeling of a little baby curled up on each side of me, sleeping with their faces tucked against me. Each one holding onto my thumbs for dear life, trusting me. And I certainly couldn’t have imagined what it would be like to do this:

IMG_0930

Most startling, how they both sleep in exactly the same position. How within seconds of one shifting their left hand up to their head, the other will follow. How they both opened their left eyes first, sometimes only, having a peek around. How they lazily pull away from the breast and then raise their eyebrows in the exact same way. They even both had the same gunky stuff in the same eye, clearing up at the same time.

IMG_0947

Welcome to our family. And they’d like to say hello to all of you. I’d like to say thank you for the congratulations. TMD and I have never been so tired, or so happy.

IMG_0692

IMG_0731

IMG_0784

IMG_0669

IMG_0739

After all the worries they would come early (delivered at 38 weeks) and be too small (he was 7 lb 8, she was 6 lb 6), you are both so perfect, and soft, and small, and ours. How long we waited for you, how many fears and worries we had, how many hopes and expectations. You surpass anything either of us ever thought we could begin to imagine. We love you more than words will say, but I know you feel it because of the way you look at us.

Tags: , ,

28 Responses to “Welcome.”

  1. Tatiana Says:

    SOBBING AND SOBBING. Oh babies. I love them. I want to pack up and move to your area right now.

  2. pamela Says:

    beautiful babies, great breastfeeding pic.

  3. Tatiana Says:

    Okay so I’ve read this post like seven times and looked at the pictures even more. Dudette. I am dying of The Beautiful.

  4. Tia Says:

    Perfect in every way. Tons of love.

  5. eccedentesiast Says:

    I’ve been silently reading since the beginning of this gorgeous little story and I just wanted to rear my head and state the obvious… they’re absolutely beautiful. Congratulations x

  6. mommyme Says:

    May God……absolutely perfect. Both of them!!! Congratulations Mommies and GREAT JOB!!!!!

  7. Jinxy Says:

    Oh my gosh, they are just prefect! You made my cry with the sweetness of this post and the cuteness of your babies.

    I love the breastfeeding picture, ok really I love all the pictures.

    Congrats again!

  8. Pufferfish Says:

    So beautiful! Thanks for posting the breastfeeding shot–gives me a glimpse into my future!
    Hope you get a little sleep and that you are all adjusting to this new life together.

  9. nutella Says:

    They are beautiful! Congratulations.

  10. Juice-ica Says:

    Omg they’re absolutely adorable! I’m not sure which picture I like best – the breastfeeding one or the last one where they’re holding hands. How cuuutee! >.< Congratulations again to you & TMD! <333

  11. ninefirefly Says:

    Perfect. How perfect! Seriously enjoy every single second. My little one is already almost 3 weeks old and the time has literally flown by. I can’t believe that she was that small!!!! Breastfeeding looks like it is going well, good job! All the best to you and your family. Enjoy!

  12. Kat Says:

    they are beautiful!

  13. Anna Says:

    Tears in my eyes. So, so happy for both of you, for all of you and grateful for your generous sharing of this experience. It has brought real joy and hope into my life. Best wishes to you all xx

  14. CJ Says:

    They are perfect and adorable!! Congrats!!

  15. Trey Givens Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!! They’re super-adorable!

    *SMOOCHES*

  16. Cookie Says:

    I love them already! β™₯

  17. casey Says:

    I have never seen two more beautiful newborn babies..

    I simply cannot imagine how happy the both of you must be…

    it brings tears to my eyes..

    good job mamas!

  18. Tatiana Says:

    Yeah, I’m here again. Don’t even look at your blog stats today for how many times I’ve looked at your babies. This is what you must have felt like when I had Maia and you were like “omg i am crazy stalker woman” because GUESS WHAT, I AM CRAZY STALKER WOMAN. like a tiger stalks, because i want to eat them.

    Also I miss Maia sleeping like Mano, w/both fists up. So damned sweet.

  19. Shilo Says:

    holy shit. You’ve successfully managed to make me cry my eyes out. I can’t believe how beautiful your little ones are. I more so can’t believe that that is going to be me in a few short weeks as well. I am just not prepared at all for whats to come, but it sure does look sweet. Congtratulations x infinity. They are so so so gorgeous and I wish you guys all the best.

  20. 2momswithaplan Says:

    You have me crying over here!!! They are so beautiful! Thank you for sharing and again… CONGRATS to you both!

  21. liz and andrea Says:

    Congratulations! They are stunning. And that last pic where they are holding hands is amazing! Enjoy them!

  22. HelenEdith Says:

    Congratulations! Those would have been good weights even for singletons.

    If I were 20 years younger, you’d have me all clucky by now, but I’m not, and I’m happy to admire without envying. πŸ™‚

    It will be interesting to see how they develop if you continue to maintain this blog.

  23. Lauren Says:

    This entry is just full of so much awesome. So very beautiful.
    I love the way her face says “yes, I know, it sucks. There, there.” in the photo where his is screwed up crying.
    Wicked tandom feeding photo!
    Do we get to find out names? I so want to know their names but have a feeling you won’t be revealing.

  24. Felicity Says:

    They’re beautiful, amazing photos – especially the breastfeeding one. Congratulations to both of you.

  25. Holly at Tropic of Mom Says:

    Super congrats! Your babies are so precious. They look like good eaters. πŸ™‚ Blessings….

  26. Holly at Tropic of Mom Says:

    Ugh, PS that was me, Damselfy at Growing A Life….

  27. The Cesarean Secret. « existere (latin): to stand out, to emerge. Says:

    […] info: Welcome entry just after babies were born – pictures galore! My birth […]

  28. Mel Says:

    I’m quite late to this post (I found you from Jaclyn Swallom’s blog) but I just wanted to wish you, your wife, and your adorable twins well.

    Best,
    Mel from WI

Leave a Reply

