Feeling better emotionally! 31 weeks pregnant with the twins today.

by

So, I’m feeling more sane after Friday’s breakdown. The pain is not as acute, and I am somewhat managing with ice, medication, a new pillow arrangement, and total rest. Not being able to walk is not an easy thing, but I feel happy and relieved to have got to 31 weeks (today!). The crazy part of me is still lurking, whispering that the babies are really 30+6 today, but eh. I choose to feel happy that our babies, so tiny months and months ago, still measured a day older than they were! It’s like I used Miracle Grow – and it feels miraculous they were growing, despite the geysers of vomit…

Cool new thing: hiccups.

Saturday evening TMD went to IKEA, and while she was gone I had this really rhythmic twitching from Mano. It occured to me he was hiccuping! The next day it happened again – the way it seems to work is that both Torre and Mano get hiccups within minutes of each other. Today, for instance, Torre had hiccups for a couple of minutes. As soon as hers stopped, his began. And vice versa.

I do this sort of retarded jiggling of my belly, the sort of comforting slight bouncing I would do to a baby once they were out of the tummy. Don’t know if that makes the hiccups better for them, or if in fact they are then in the hell of having hiccups in an earthquake. I’ll have to ask them sometime.

My bump is still very, very low. One bout of Mano’s hiccups yesterday I felt only in my anus. (‘Anus’ seems dirtier than ‘ass’, doesn’t it?) Torre also not in my ribs anymore. Feels like she has moved back around to the right side and down a bit. She may even be head down, but let’s wait and see.

With both babies being much lower, the pressure on my pelvis is GOOD TIMES. Have had constant pubis pain today, but I can confidently say I would rather have that than scary pain I didn’t understand!!

And in other news, mail cheers me up. It’s like when I was at camp – getting a letter or anything in the post was like someone shipping me gold. Last week an old friend of TMD’s sent along an audio book and S Drawl sent along some pdf books. Yesterday my aunt sent me tiny packets of iced tea, which is a MIRACLE as it does not exist here. This morning – oh, this glorious morning – I got two boxes of donuts from Cookie, as well as a Kipling bag from when she was in high school! I am into Kipling. ANYWAY.

I had a good old time balancing on the crutches this morning, scooping crushed donut pieces into my mouth and eye flirting with the bag.

Also got three sports bras from Mom this morning – more miracles as they fit without feeling like I am in a vice. Thank God for Country A, where the people are so much more unhealthy and they make bras in big sizes!!! Mom also sent a shitload of gorgeous receiving blankets, which are so yummy and delicious I can barely take it.

So all these people have linked me to the outside world in the past week or so, and that is so much appreciated.

Also appreciated is that the massive watery discharge leakage (which happened during my three hour epic phone call with Cookie yesterday) has stopped. Now I change pantyliners out of luxury (is my life so diabolical that changing a tiny pad is ‘luxury’?) rather than the fact that they are unable to cope with the amount of liquid dripping out of my na-na.

More later.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Feeling better emotionally! 31 weeks pregnant with the twins today.”

  1. Tatiana Says:

    HICCUPS IN AN EARTHQUAKE! Priceless.

    If I had money I’d totally mail gifts to you. Alas, I don’t so I won’t, I’ll just keep offering moral support *hugs*

  2. Tatiana Says:

    Also, I read “anus” in a Borat accent, which makes it funnier.

  3. Megs Says:

    I am glad you are feeling better! Congrats on getting to 31 weeks, you are in the home stretch now!

    Sometimes when I go running, and my body is really not feeling it, I feel like sh*t about halfway through or so because the time and distance to the finish just feels too far away. But then I push through and I find that the closer I get to my finish line, the stronger and happier I feel. I even run faster, against all logic, and even feel I can go further. That is a terrible metaphor for how I imagine you are feeling, with some inappropriate boasting about my mobility to boot, but it is how I can try to relate to how you are feeling, and how I hope I can give you some encouragement to make it to the finish line – happy and strong. You can really see the end now, and when 38 weeks rolls along, maybe you won’t mind them staying put for another few days!!!

  4. Jinxy Says:

    I am so glad you are feeling better and leaking less.

    I don’t remember Lily having hiccups more then once, but I had lots of extra padding (placenta placement and chub) so I didn’t feel her as much as other people feel their babies. In fact I’m super jealous of how much you feel your babies move.

Leave a Reply

