Beginnings of epidural discussions.

by

Note: all things listed in this post may be specific to my hospital. I welcome any info or opinions, though!

Epidurals – down sides

You cannot be mobile. You have to stay in bed as you not only have the epidural but are strapped to a monitor, have a catheter, and have an IV.

You have to give birth lying on your back – and I have been told this is a no-no with SPD.

While giving birth, you can cause bad damage to yourself if you have SPD as you cannot feel the pain.

It can slow down labour.

You miss out on the pain of labour – yes, in a sick way, I would be sad about this.

Epidurals – up sides

If I needed a c-section for twin 2, I would be able to stay awake and conscious. TMD would also be allowed to be present.

No pain! I can’t imagine a period of time without pain!

There is more opportunity to rest, talk, laugh.

If I was induced (which can be a painful process), an epidural would probably be a nice friend to have.

There are more downsides I could list. Probably more upsides as well. But my eyes keep being drawn to the bit about c-sections. Us both being present at both births is THE priority for me.

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “Beginnings of epidural discussions.”

  1. Jennie Says:

    I had SPD on my second pregnancy (not as badly as you, but bad enough to be on crutches and walk only when essential!) and I delivered on my back. As long as you can physically get your legs apart enough to deliver, I was told that it was fine. And I was fine with that – it was the weight supporting which gave me pain.

    • existere Says:

      The problem IS spreading your legs – the pubis jointy thing can completely rupture, causing intense pain, wheelchair confinement, surgeries, etc. I’ve been told they should measure how far I can spread my legs before the labour, and then they should make sure I don’t spread them further than that during labour. I am super hypermobile and have a lot of movement in my pubis – sure everything will be fine, but TMD is terrified of me being in a wheelchair AND having twins to push around!!

  2. Jenny Says:

    Is it an option for you to have a light epidural, or would that not enable you to have the pros (like c-section with possibility of having both of you present for birth of child)?

    Our hospital does something called a “walking epidural” which our doula said doesn’t necessarily make it possible to walk but it DOES make it possible to do different positions other than “flat on back” during labor.

    That sounds like it would help alleviate some of the major “cons” about positioning, anyway!

    http://www.childbirth.org/articles/walkingepi.html

    I wish you the best of luck! A childhood friend had two younger sisters who were fraternal twins born at home, so I know it’s possible to have everything go very smoothly for a multiples pregnancy! I hope that it does for you, too!

    • existere Says:

      Will have a look at this – I suspect it is what they would call a ‘mobile epidural’ here. That IS the kind they would plan on giving me, and I guess some of my questions should be about birth positions. The midwife teaching the antenatal class said you have to give birth on your back, but then made a concession that with SPD there are alternative positions. I can’t do my knees, but have read lying on your side is good? Who knows!!

      Thanks for the positive comment. It’s nice to know others have good, straightforward births with twins.

  3. Tatiana Says:

    I agree with you about having you both there for the births being REALLY important. I think that if that’s at the top of your list, you should probably get the epidural ASAP. It is the only way to guarantee you will both be there for both babies.

    And if being in less pain ends up giving you more strength so you possibly can push out both babies vs getting the c-section (I know it’s dependent on positioning, just sayin), then more power to you.

    This is so fucking exciting. I can’t believe your babies are so close (although hopefully they’re still several months away 🙂 )

    • existere Says:

      Less than nine weeks, if we deliver at 38 weeks!! All seems wacky and unreal, despite the fact that I can now see my bump moving through several layers of clothes AND blankets. Heh.

      It’s funny as I always wanted an epidural from the get go, just in case, but that opinion has changed recently. Not sure how I feel now. I DO know there is a possibility of being ‘set up’ for an epidural without having the medication administered – but once the canister thing is in your back you need all the extras anyway. So might as well also have the pain relief!

  4. Jinxy Says:

    I’m glad I’m not alone in not wanting to miss out on the pain.

    I say you both being there for the birth of both babies is the most important thing, so as much as I understand not wanting an epidural I say get it.

Leave a Reply

