The longest entry in the world?

by

Ooh, isn’t the world just one big circle? I got a few comments about names, and I felt inspired to write a name entry. You read it, and then you were inspired to comment!! I usually try to respond personally to every comment and am sure I will get around to it, but for now wanted to write about midwife visit before I forgot anything. Not that there is anything much to report – which is a good thing!!

TMD is home today, love love joy.

She was working from home for a couple of hours, and then supposed to take a train to The City and attend some workshop. Unfortunately for her (but fortunately for me!) she has a booming headache and feels like shit. So she is working from home the whole day. She has actually accomplished more than she would were she at work, and I know from my point of view that playing DS Lite is better when you have your wifey in the same room. She even took me to the midwife during her lunch hour.

The midwife today (the one who talked about lesbianism and orgasms last time) asked us today how we decided who would carry the babies. TMD now thinks the midwife is trying to become a practicing lesbian and wants us to be her instructors. She may be right.

ANYWAY.

My blood pressure still perfectly normal. The top number (have no clue what it means) is about 25 points higher than when I booked, but the bottom number is only 7 points higher. The midwife says the bottom number is the one they pay attention to, and if that ever jumps 20-25 points higher than it originally was, then ‘they get excited.’ IE preeclampsia, I assume. My urine was free from sugar, infection, and protein.

It was also FULL of….stuff. I used my new funnel urine collector (and really enjoyed it) today and when I lifted the urine sample to unscrew the funnel, I noticed The Stuff. Like lots of white things floating around. The midwife ‘let it cook’ with the stick in it, so she possibly thought something was up – normally they dip the test stick in and read it instantly. Apparently whatever the white stuff is, I’m still fine.

Anyone know about thrush and pregnancy? I only ask because I have NEVER had globs of stuff in my urine samples before, unless you count menstrual blood. (Speaking of blood, my poop got stuck this morning. And when it finally came out, there was as much blood on the toilet paper as poo. Yes. I know you wanted to know.)

The other big news is that the midwife says both babies are headdown!! I had been wondering about Torre for a couple of days, as her kicks were higher. Well, the midwife felt both heads (Torre’s feels like a big ass apple and was a bit uncomfy for her to push on, Mano’s wasn’t uncomfy and wasn’t that noticeable.) and said she thought they were headdown. She then whipped out her doppler –

break for a related newscast: because we have a doppler at home, we hear their heartbeats maybe once a week. Therefore, this is not a new thing that only happens once a month. Therefore, I feel like we do not exude the tearful joy that the midwives expect to see when parents hear the heartbeats of their children.

and Torre’s heartbeat was much lower than usual. Freakishly so. Mano’s, on the other hand, was perhaps higher than his usually is. She said Torre was lower down than Mano – what what? Perhap’s Torre’s big apple head will keep Mano from going transverse again? It also means that lots of the shifting type movements I have felt down low and assumed was Mano stretched across the bottom of the bump has actually been both babies. Join me in the chant: stay headdown, children o’ mine!!!

Headdown headdown
goooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
headdown!

In the meantime, the crazy paintworks are still going on. The carpet guy also came round last night and left some samples with us. Seeing carpet on big squares is funny – we’ve essentially got The Bathmat, The Outdoor Welcome Mat, and The Doormat. Neither of us wants the bathmat stuff. But TMD likes this crazy ass wicker-looking carpet, which, according to Carpet Guy, is ‘the height of fashion right now.’ Excuse me while I yawn.

I am going to rub my inner elbows on both samples because I think her crazy woolen choice is not the nicest for little baby feet and knees. I think it looks attractive and all, but who wants a high fashion house floored with endless metres of rough carpet? I’ll take boring and cosy any day.

At any rate, because TMD is here and working right by the bedroom door, I have been able to lie down all day with no worries of having to jump up and talk to the decorator. As luck would have it, he hasn’t been knocking on the door a million times like he normally does. I just want all these various home improvement men to be done and out of the house – no more horrid paint smells, no moving shit around, no piles of shit shoved into our room and the twins’ room.

I am in the mood to THROW EVERYTHING OUT. Get rid of it all. Our lounge looks like a fucking show home with just the furniture and nothing else in it. All you need to be glam is some empty bookshelves and a dying plant or two. I don’t want to fill it with bullshit again! But I know how I am. As soon as TMD starts showing me shit to be recycled/donated/etc I will freak out and say I don’t want to get rid of it.

Get rid of it, get rid of it…………..
goooooooooooooooooooo
getridofit!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “The longest entry in the world?”

  1. Jinxy Says:

    I bought a cheap doppler so we could try and hear Lily but between my extra padding and the placement of my (Lily’s) placenta I could never hear her with it. So going to the doctor and hearing her was always a bright point for me.

Leave a Reply

