26 weeks pregnant with twins…and all that goes with that. (Zits all over my forehead. NICE.)

by

Thank you all for the lovely comments on my SuperBump ™. I have a few more pics that were taken two days ago to upload – my bump appears to have grown a few inches overnight, and I don’t think it’s just me. It’s funny – about four/five days ago I was thinking that I had got used to the extra weight, that I sometimes forget I am pregnant, etc.

WRONG.

The night we took these pictures, I saw myself in the Belly Bra and my jaw was almost dislocated from the force of my mouth opening so wide. I am hesitant to say I have a big bump, because everytime I have thought that in the past I have learned a few weeks later that I had NO IDEA what ‘big’ was. No doubt this is a lesson I will continue to have.

I was going through my phone and deleting old text messages yesterday (and finding it an entertaining, worthwhile use of my time – you SEE what all these weeks at home have turned me into?!?) and found some texts I had sent waaaaaaaaaaay back when I was on crutches from the accident. Things like, ‘I’m on crutches and have a huge stomach and no one will offer me a seat. Stupid bastards!’ Etc. I look back now and want to shake myself. Huge bump? Make me fucking laugh, yo.

I am pregnant with twins and I am a superhero! Hardcore. Hardy.

Ha.

At any rate, I am hiding in my bedroom and will be for the rest of the week. At any moment a builder/painter guy is going to show up. We’re having the lounge, hall, and kitchen repainted – I will be hiding not just because that is what I would do if any workmen were in the house, not just because this particular guy is THE chattiest person I have ever met and when I am trapped in conversation with him I can only dream of escape, but because of the paint fumes.

We’ll see how my body likes sitting upright in the glider, as Marmite is dominating the bed at the moment.

And that’s the other thing. Yesterday I was lying on the couch, and I almost couldn’t get up. If I had been more sprightly, I would have said that I was flopping around like a fish out of water. Rather, I sort of lay there, rolling from side to side, hands moving about independent of my brain’s control, trying to find something to grab onto and pull me up. That was an interesting experience. It is now VERY difficult to get myself up off the couch.

I have also had a few nights of dodgy sleep  – escalating to terrible sleep, actually. Last night I found a new solution and it seemed to work, so here’s hoping. During my rearranging of pillows (or, rather, ordering TMD to Make The Bed Perfect Or Else) I confessed to her that I’m actually quite worried what the rest of pregnancy will be like. I mean, many people are my size right before they give birth. So when women who are heavily pregnant (38+ weeks?) complain about just wanting to get it over with and have the baby? Yes, my size or smaller.

I am 26 weeks pregnant today. Yikes, yowza, etc.

We have talked about the fact that once I reach about 36 weeks I will probably need TMD’s mum to come stay with me when TMD is at work. Simply because I don’t know if I’ll be able to move (SPD be damned, I’m talking merely about how huge I’ll be!!!), and I don’t know if I would be crazy or calm if my waters broke.

I am also thinking about the fact that I DO want the blog world to know when things are moving or shaking, and how I will manage to have that sorted out. Poor Tatiana might get an email asking if she wants to guest blog/update for me (hint, hint), though I still don’t know how she would know things were moving along. Plus, that pesky time difference is a WHORE.

Hmmm. Corporate T?

Anyway. Other news is Big Baby Shopping we did this weekend. Won’t write all about it, but will say we went into the town centre especially to look at a particular twin pushchair (‘travel system’ for the uninitiated) – and while we were in the store, a really nice couple with 8 month old twins came in….using that exact pushchair. They let us push their baby girls around (I also told the husband I wanted to kidnap them as they were so cute. How am I allowed in public??) so we could see what the pushchair was like with two babies in it.

While we were doing that, ANOTHER twin mom came in. This is a terrible thing to say,  but her two year old girls looked like they were from Village of the Damned. Very pale skin, see through blonde hair – I was just waiting for their eyes to light up red. We didn’t talk to that mom, possibly because her kids freaked us both out.

Please, let our kids be gorgeously cute, universe!!!

I love my bump muchly, even though I occasionally whack it with the fridge door when I open it (easy to do, actually). If the babies are as cute as the bump, we can all be hopeful. Other cute thing – they respond to TMD’s voice, particularly Mano. I do think he’s in a better position to be kicking, and he does move around a lot. Torre still quieter on the movement front, though her kicks are POWERHOUSES and occasionally make me scream in surprise.

Love to you all!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “26 weeks pregnant with twins…and all that goes with that. (Zits all over my forehead. NICE.)”

  1. Jenny Says:

    To be fair, I think that there’s a lot of variation between singleton pregnancies, too, how much people feel like they are HUGE and SO TIRED vs feeling okay and energetic. Teh wife is still pretty sprightly and not quite huge at 34 weeks, I think in part because she’s taller so there’s more room for the baby to go up and not just out.

    • existere Says:

      Of course every pregnancy is different! I’m pleased she is still sprightly – and also that you have used the word ‘sprightly.’ It made me smile.

      I am tall too. And last night we actually wondered if I was growing or TMD was shrinking as she suddenly seemed a lot shorter. Hmm…

  2. 26 weeks pregnant with twins…and all that goes with that. (Zits … | Twins Article | Uniquely Twins Says:

    […] Read m&#111&#114e f&#114&#111m t&#104e &#111&#114iginal s&#111u&#114ce: 26 weeks pre&#103&#110a&#110&#116 wi&#116h &#116wi&#110s…a&#110d all &#116ha&#116 &#103oes wi&#116… […]

  3. 26 weeks pregnant with twins…and all that goes with that. (Zits … | Twins Article | Uniquely Twins Says:

    […] Read the &#111&#114&#105g&#105nal: 26 week&#115 pregnant w&#105th tw&#105n&#115…and all that goe&#115 w&#105th that. (Z&#105t&#115 &#… […]

  4. Jinxy Says:

    I bet Tatiana would be happy to guest blog, and if not I will. I liven in the Mountain time zone, I don’t know how that effects you.

  5. Tatiana Says:

    I will totally guest blog for you. I just wish I could somehow be sitting at your bedside when you are in labour, blogging/twittering on your behalf. Sorry not to reply sooner — didn’t read anyone’s blogs while on vacay.

  6. hotel Gabriella Says:

    hotel Gabriella…

    […]26 weeks pregnant with twins…and all that goes with that. (Zits all over my forehead. NICE.) « existere (latin): to stand out, to emerge.[…]…

  7. Pregnant Says:

    Pregnant…

    […]26 weeks pregnant with twins…and all that goes with that. (Zits all over my forehead. NICE.) « existere (latin): to stand out, to emerge.[…]…

Leave a Reply

