Fascinating anatomical updates.

by

My belly button is a constant subject of conversation in our home. I also furtively (and compulsively) touch it about twenty times a day because you never know when it will be the last touch. I even had a dream about ‘missing’ an opportunity to touch it the other night, and then it popped and that was that.

I have one baby above the button and one below, so it is still hanging in there – barely. I am thinking it will never pop, but will flatten out and ssssssstttttttrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeetttttttttcccccccchhhhhhhhh. We’ll see.

Last night in the bath (talking to Cookie on the phone. Hi, Cookie!) I yelled for TMD to come see some belly lurches, courtesy of the kidlets. Then I sneezed. TMD backed away from me in horror.

‘What?’ I asked, slightly irritated. I sneezed again.

TMD squeezed her eyes shut and said, ‘Sweet Jesus! Your belly button just fucking – oh, I’m going to throw up.’ Her dramatics aside, she finally managed to create a belly button hole with one hand and the ‘bottom’ of my belly button with a finger from the other hand. Apparently when I sneeze my belly button pops out like a nipple – a big ass nipple – and then it goes back in afterward.

As Cookie pointed out, I will never see this because it is apparently impossible to sneeze with your eyes open. I am quick to point out that I might not be able to get a clear view even if my eyes didn’t pop out from the pressure, as my stomach totally sticks out of the water and it’s difficult to see anything clearly that is at the belly button line – and impossible to see anything lower.

So.

Nipple. Belly. Button.

Postscript: TMD ran to get the camera and started filming my stomach, but no more sneezes were forthcoming.

(Oh! I’m 25 weeks pregnant today!)

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Fascinating anatomical updates.”

  1. Tatiana Says:

    hehehe! that’s awesome.

  2. Jinxy Says:

    That is so funny. Too bad you didn’t get any photos.

  3. ninefirefly Says:

    I know how you feel about the belly button issue. I’m touching mine constantly to check it’s status. DP hasn’t seen me seeze yet though so I don’t know if mine is at that cusp. . . 🙂

Leave a Reply

