Results from scan – we know what Torre is!!

by

Sorry to not post about scan – trips out of the house tire me so much that I don’t often even get near the computer afterward. And yesterday we went to collect some free baby stuff from a local freecycler, and then popped into a few shops for breast pumps and other fun things. That shit just about broke me! I slept in for like half the day today.

I know you are like, why is she babbling? Did she find out what Torre is or WHAT?!? That’s what I would be thinking if I were you, anyway.

The scan went very well – no pics this time as it is all ‘anatomical slices’ of the babies from here on in. Nothing terribly recognisable aside from their brains or hearts. The ultrasound lady moaned about how she hated sexing babies as that wasn’t what the scan is for. Well, sorry moany myrtle, but the hospital OFFERS sexing so suck it up, fuckface!

The beginning of the scan involved me laying on the table for a freakishly long time, as the sonographer had to run the previous lady to the delivery ward as she was in labour and didn’t realise it. Yikes. Both babies are doing very well. Mano is a hair bigger than Torre, but both babies developing spot on – they are each the size they would be if it was a singleton pregnancy, so all going well (ie babies staying put and me managing to continue to eat like a heavyweight wrestler) we may just end up with two very normal sized babies and escape the ‘tiny twins’ curse.

Mano has got himself into a fucked up transverse position, while Torre is still breach. In fact, every time she kicks she is kicking Mano in the head. Let’s hope all the benefits of being crazy morning sick (it causes smart babies, doncha know) outweigh all this skull pummeling in utero.

Sonographer confirmed Mano is ‘probably’ a boy (um, wtf) and said that Torre is a girl!! She zoomed in on what she thought was the labia. Of course, she made all the usual protesting noises that sometimes boy babies have undescended testicles and therefore look like girls, and that sometimes when boy babies don’t have erections it can be hard to see their love wands. However, she said she was pretty confident Torre was a girl! This felt sort of anticlimactic as TMD has ‘known’ what each baby was since we found out there were babies in there. And in the last week or so I finally caved and began thinking of her as a girl as well.

The whole sex/gender thing is interesting. Cookie said on the phone a few weeks ago that she was horrified that I used ‘gender’ in place of ‘sex.’ This is certainly not something I would do in the real world – the world outside of insular pregnancy talk, anyway. But the reaction people have had to the babies boy/girlness has sort of disturbed both of us. My mother wasn’t too happy about Mano being a boy – in fact, she read my text wrong and told Bear we were having two girls.

When she heard about Torre, she started crying with happiness. She then sent a text later in the day saying what a ‘beautiful day’ it was. Other people have said we’ve ‘hit the jackpot’ and must be so happy – as if to have two babies of the same sex would be a waste or something. I realise that’s now not the case for us – we happen to be having a little girl AND a little boy. But honestly, does it really fucking matter?

I had really strong preferences before falling pregnant, and now I just don’t care. All this ‘perfect family’ one boy one girl stuff freaks me out, quite frankly. We will (and do!) love our children because of who they are, not because they have certain genitalia.

z9

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Results from scan – we know what Torre is!!”

  1. Sue Says:

    Congratulations! I’m very excited for you!
    And Happy Mommy’s Day!

  2. casey Says:

    OHHH!!!!!!!!!!!! EXCITING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Juice-ica Says:

    Ya know, I’m a bit hestitant to be all “awww, a boy AND a girl” now because, well, I don’t want to repeat what’s already been said. Of course, now I’ve already said it so I might as well defend my original thought. πŸ˜›

    It’s not that having 2 girls or 2 boys would be a waste (not at all!). I’m just excited for you & Suzy because if you two decide that 2 children are enough for you, you will both still be able to experience raising a boy AND a girl, ya know? Perhaps that’s where everyone else’s excitement comes from as well, I don’t know.

    I’m not even sure that makes sense or not. Anyway.. I’m happy that you finally found out what Torre was. Although it seems we all should’ve listened to Suzy to begin with. Haha. ^_^

    • existere Says:

      Crap! Clicked reply to this and it doesn’t show the whole comment. Let’s see if I can remember it…heh. Pregnancy brain!

      I think people can be excited whatever combo, but what has been upsetting is the assumption that we would value a girl over all other options. I am already crazy about needing to make sure things are ‘even’ for the babies (this is for another post), so the suggestion that one is better than the other irks me.

  4. Jinxy Says:

    Congrats!! How perfec… of nevermind. LOL. πŸ™‚

    My entire life I knew I wanted to have a girl, I couldn’t imagine having a boy. Oh the horror. But once I got pregnant I realized it didn’t matter. I was going to love this baby with my whole being no matter what was between its legs. Now don’t get me wrong I was still very happy when we had Lily, I mean have you see the cute girl clothes out there? πŸ™‚

    I would like to have a boy to experience both “flavors”.

    I’m very happy for both of you.

Leave a Reply

