Friendship, racism, family.

by

My sister has banned my mother from seeing her Facebook updates for ‘an extended period of time.’ Blondie posted a picture of her with some people she used to work with, who all happen to be in Big City here in Country B (Blondie has just moved here! She’s coming to us next weekend and I can’t wait!). The guys in the picture were not white.

My mom sent her a text message saying to be careful because she and my stepdad saw the picture and think the guys look ‘scary.’ Blondie was understandably pissed and now my mother has lost her most valuable stalking tool.

Mom called me this morning to try to get me on her side, as ‘you are a mother now and you know how I worry!’ I said I thought she was lucky she had daughters who believed most people were good people, regardless of skin colour. Then came five of the most racist, misguided minutes of my life.

I tried to reason with her, but things got more and more surreal. So I switched topic. ‘Hey, we are going to a concert of Ghanian music this afternoon!’ She was like, ‘Awesome, that will be fun!’

Apparently old dogs can learn new tricks. She is now more scared of brownish people than blackish people. I pointed that we are very good friends with people of various skin hues and we love them all. She was quiet.

I am lucky to like people, to have a sister who likes people. I am lucky to have children with brown, pink, black, white friends, who judge people not on skin colour but on who they have the most fun with. I hope that never changes.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Friendship, racism, family.”

  1. nobodysperfick Says:

    Good for you AND your sis!

  2. Jess Collingwood Says:

    If I didn’t know any better, I’d say you were actually speaking to MY mother on the phone. She’s exactly the same way & has always seen it as a negative that I see people as good people.

    Anyway, on a more positive note, so glad Blondie is so close to you guys now!! I’m excited for you and both the kids as well! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers

