I could really use some cheering up.

by

Well, for the .02% of you who missed my posts about symphysis pubis dysfunction, this one’s for you.

Two Saturdays ago I went for a Bowen treatment. My new therapist is so good, and I’ve been mostly cured for so long that we both thought it might be a good idea to have an appointment every two or three months as a maintenance thing, rather than waiting till things were at crisis point before going in. So I went. And it totally jacked me up.

I went back Saturday for a free treatment to try to fix things. It was helping, right till the end when I got two monstrous and surprising bolts of pain in my symphysis pubis. It was scary, but I didn’t think too much more about it. I was fine yesterday and today….right until I had some twinges in the joint. Zoom forward literally only two minutes and I was unable to walk.

So here we are again, unable to walk even with crutches, fully doped up. My Bowen lady is coming for a home visit on Wednesday. I am fed up and terrified and hurting. And surprised. It’s been so long since I’ve had this pain.

My period is due soon- today, really, though the ivf has messed me up so badly it might not come for another week or so. While my period hasn’t affected me much in the last five or six months, I am hoping that its arrival will help ease up this pain.

And, also, how am I supposed to watch the kids tomorrow? It’s all fine saying I can stay on the couch all day until you remember pesky little details like the fact they need to eat, and we are missing a kick ass birthday party. Fingers crossed I’ll feel more able in the morning.
So. That’s it.

Tearfully yours,
Me

Tags: , ,

10 Responses to “I could really use some cheering up.”

  1. Lyssie Says:

    Oh honey, sending you lots of good thoughts and hope you’re feeling better soon.

  2. mummysallygg Says:

    I’m so sorry you’re suffering like this. I don’t think I’ll ever forget the pain of SPD and how miserable it made me. I’ve just got back from a long walk dragging my daughter on the sledge, and all the time I’m thankful that I can do this having been on crutches with SPD when I was pregnant. I still get twinges that take my breath away occasionally, but they never last more than a day. So I know I’ve been really lucky.
    Having spoken to friends who have also suffered, I think there is some consensus that your cycle can affect it – after all it’s all about the hormones. I do hope that your period brings you some relief when it comes.
    Sitting on the sofa was no good for me – do you have a birth ball? Perhaps you could make a game of bouncing on that with the kids tomorrow (to party music)? As for lunch – what about a picnic on the floor for them – just crackers and cheese and bits of fruit (or crisps and cake to make up for missing the party) so you don’t have to do much if they can just pick at things? My experience tells me they probably won’t even notice they’re missing the party either so don’t beat yourself about that!
    Anyway, didn’t want to read without commenting as I feel so sad for you even though I don’t actually know you! One three year old is hard work enough without doubling the trouble and adding in a crippling and painful illness!
    Take care
    x

    • me Says:

      I HAD two birth balls, but they went the way of freecycle. I think I need to think about getting one again. Ive just been doing so well, this is a shock. It’s a shock every time, though. SPD sucks. I’m glad you are (mostly) better.

  3. Jess Collingwood Says:

    I’m so sorry you’re hurting like this again! Wish I lived nearby so I could come over & help you out with the kids while you rested. :( Hopefully this passes soon!

  4. mamacrowm Says:

    oh no oh no oh no :( (((hugs)))
    really hope the home visit clears it up xx

  5. Winnie Says:

    (((HUGS))) Good thoughts and feeling-goodness coming your way!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

